Families logo

Surprised

Things I didn’t know about pregnancy and child birth.

By Maddie DealPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

So many things that I know now, I wish I knew then. Pregnancy was rough for me. Really rough. Although I had a textbook normal healthy pregnancy I was absolutely miserable. Don’t get me wrong I love my little bundle of joy and I wouldn’t trade him for he world. I do however wish I knew what it was going to be like being pregnant before hand. Everyone, even people who hated being pregnant, acted like it was such a fun process... that is until I couldn’t do anything about being preggers. This is how my pregnancy went:

First Trimester

I didn’t find out I was with child until I was about 1 or 12 weeks along but I remember my first trimester all too well.

Month One

Suddenly overnight I couldn’t get enough sleep. I’d go to bed at 7 PM and wake up at 4 or 5 AM. Everything made me sick and I mean everything especially coffee and wine. I also looked like death and lost about 5 pounds over night.

Month Two

We moved from California to Colorado. I was still sleeping constantly and I got massively sick to the point my husband was worried sick. My gums puffed, I couldn’t open my mouth, couldn’t swallow. It hurt to attempt to drink water let alone do anything else. I got medication and got rid of the sinus infection.

Month Three

I just started a new job two weeks prior to find that I was pregnant. Oh when that test popped positive I was so thrilled. Scared but thrilled. We went to planned parent hood to get it confirmed. I was 12 weeks pregnant.

Month Four-Six:

Got my first ultrasound at 16 weeks and I cried seeing my beautiful baby on that monitor. Trying to find out the sex was a nightmare because I couldn’t get my ultrasound done. The doctor kept canceling so we went to a new doctor. One week shy of my third trimester we found out we were having a boy and that was thrilling.

Month Seven-Nine:

So far pregnancy was hard but not horrible then the third trimester hit and it was a nightmare. I couldn’t sleep, I was always starving, couldn’t get comfortable. The doctors told me during my entire pregnancy that oh that’s normal and I couldn’t help but hate my life a little. I was in so much pain it was ridiculous. And then my due date came and went.

Labor

I was induced on September 22 at 8 PM. That was the longest night of my life. I thought I’d be in labor for 12 to 16 hours. No. Forty-four hours later my son was born. At noon on Saturday the 23, I was 4cm dilated (when I went in Friday night I was only one) and they broke my water. After the first 24 hours I finally decided to get the epidural right then my IV blows out and the nurses keep blowing veins trying to fix it before finally it is fixed and I’m getting the epidural. The next morning my doctor walks in and says that we might need to do a c-section because the little one had gone almost 24 hours without fluid and it was getting dangerous. I wasn’t progressing the way I should have. So we had decided that if by 11 AM I hadn’t progressed (he walked in at six and I was 5cm dilated) we would do the c-section. When he walked back in at ten, I jumped to 9cm where I stayed until 3 PM when they started having me do test pushes and pushing the last little bits of my cervix to the side. 3:30 to 3:45 PM. Time to push. Five pushes later my son was here. The doctor quickly stitched my tear and took an hour getting out my placenta out. I then started hemorrhaging and the doctor had to clean me out and give me medications to keep me safe.

Hard to believe that was two months ago and my son and I are both extremely healthy.

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.