Families logo

Sunday

Family Day

By Karolyn Denson LandrieuxPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Sunday

Family Day

Sun reflects from the mirror across the room

Through the slightly opened window

The church bell chimes

Sunday

Family day

My feet touch the floor

Downstairs to the kitchen

Three eggs added to the things that go inside

Pie crust and cheese

Laughter from the courtyard below me

Sunday

Family day

The other half of me stirs softly in the loft above my head

I make coffee

Today it is the hazelnut flavored brew that he likes sometimes

He is still sleeping

I put the coffee on the nightstand next to him

He snores softly

Because

It’s

Sunday

Stealthily I move back downstairs

I get back to my task

I prepare my special mixture and slide it into the hot oven

Sunday

It’s quiche day

It’s family day

I take a sip of my own coffee and wait

marriedvalues
1

About the Creator

Karolyn Denson Landrieux

Karolyn lives in Paris and Pittsburgh. She loves travel and has travelled most of the world, she enjoys time at home with family. Whether it's cooking, painting, designing or writing, creativity is her passion. @karolynd88 @maxineandbeanie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.