Families logo

Summer Love

Golden Summer

By Jasmine FilmorePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Summer has always been my favorite season, especially spending time with my family in New Orleans. As a young girl I remember visiting my grandparents beautiful Victorian rose pink house with white trimming around it. Waking up every morning smelling my grandma's delicious biscuits, pancakes, beignets, and bacon cooked for the entire family, made me warm inside. I've always adored my mom and aunts smiling faces when they would see me sneak up on them. Their giggles were contagious and you couldn't help but giggle as well. Playing with my cousins was the highlight of my day, running around the front yard, laughing and screaming with joy. What made me happy was helping my dad, uncle, and grandpa in the garden, admiring each flower you can think of. But there was on particular flower that stood out from the rest. A flower so mesmerizing and I still remember my dad saying the name of it, Marigold. Now that I'm a college student, I still visit my grandparents house every summer even though they are no longer with us. My mom and aunt always made sure that the house stayed the same as it did before. Especially that beautiful rose pink and white trim around the house, but I couldn't wait to see my favorite area that brought back memories. Sure enough the garden was still there and every flower I remembered. And there it was, beautiful as I imagined before but this time more marigold flowers had grown around the original one. The night I arrived, my family called a meeting about turning the house into a bed and breakfast which my grandparents planned on starting when I was a little girl but never had the chance. So now my mom and aunt had turned their parents dream into a reality. The day had finally arrive to welcome tourists and travelers to our family home. Hopefully our future guests will enjoy some southern hospitality as they visit New Orleans. As I'm helping around the house with our guests, I noticed a little girl in the garden looking around, it brought back memories. Right then and there I felt like that little girl again smiling on the inside. Happiness immediately came over me remembering the time I had with my family. I decided to approach the little girl and ask her if she likes the flowers in the garden. With a big smile on her pretty little face, she pointed directly to the marigold. The joy in her eyes was the same joy I had in my eyes as well. It was something magical about my grandparents garden that I couldn't explain. Just in that moment, I realized love was always embedded in my family and the house I grew up in. As I watch my family take care of the guests, I noticed how elated and relaxed everyone was. I'm pretty sure that this new chapter in our lives will remain for a long time and a memory that is going to last forever. Meeting new people everyday and hearing their stories brightens my day. As the years pass by, things back home hasn't changed, even our families bed and breakfast is still open for travelers that we welcome as family. Every now and then I would visit just to spend time at the house like old times. Happiness and love has taught me to value the ones close to you no matter what. Having a family of my own now, I plan on creating memories that will last a lifetime. I even started my own garden in my back yard, growing every flower you can think of and yes the one I admired as a little girl. My love for summer will always have a place in my heart more so now.

grandparents
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine Filmore

My name is Jasmine Filmore and I'm from Beaumont, Texas. I'm very passionate about reading, writing, and singing. My husband and son are my biggest supporters. I am a Christian and love spending time with my family. 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.