Marriage logo

The Beauty of Life

Love conquers all

By Jasmine FilmorePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Nowadays true love is hard to find but it's also rare to find that special someone. What if I told you that your soul mate has been around you for over 12 years. Would it ever cross your mind that a friend so close to you that you've known forever, could possibly be your life partner? I didn't think that would happen to me until it actually happened. Over 12 years ago I met a young man named Brent who was charming, sweet, kind and out spoken. Little did I know he was going to be my husband one day. I knew that Brent was different from the other guys I've dated. Every time we would hang out, he would always ask me about my goals in life and I would ask him the same. Over the years we had grown close and feelings arose. The previous relationships I had were rocky and I was so uneasy about dating again. Surprisingly it was the same for him as well. But eventually that changed when I opened up to him. So one day I decided to tell Brent how I really felt and he was very hesitant about it. I understood why he was uneasy and afraid to take that risk. Love can hurt sometimes and I was willing to show him that he can trust me. Once he saw that I wasn't like other women, things changed drastically between us. When we started dating, our feelings for each other were undeniable and unbreakable. It was like we were meant for one another and you could see that the love was there. As the years passed, we decided to move in together and that's when things had gotten serious. The feeling of being in love was so strong even we had our disagreements. As the years went by, something magical occurred, till this day I still remember what happened. On November 19, 2019, his family had planned a birthday party for his grandmother but little did I know it was bigger than that. While enjoying myself, I didn't think the unexpected. So the photographer there made sure everyone took a picture, then something strange came about. I noticed how his entire family gathered around us when it was our turn to take a picture. Next thing I know Brent was on one knee, asking for my hand in marriage and of course I said yes. A year later we decided to get married in July and till this day we are still in love with each other. Fast forward to now, my husband and I are still going strong even though disagreements happen every now and then. I've learned that no matter what it's important to talk about how you feel with your significant other and they should do the same. Every thing works out when you talk it out with the other partner. My husband has showed me his way on how to love and I showed him my way as well. The most beautiful thing about our relationship is communication and expressing our feelings to each other. I believe that's what makes a bond so amazing and strong in a marriage and a relationship. Never thought in a million years my best friend would be my soul mate. So I ask again, would it ever cross your mind that a friend so close to you that you've known forever, could possibly be your life partner? Not just a friend or life partner but someone you'll love forever. That's the beautiful thing about life.

proposal
1

About the Creator

Jasmine Filmore

My name is Jasmine Filmore and I'm from Beaumont, Texas. I'm very passionate about reading, writing, and singing. My husband and son are my biggest supporters. I am a Christian and love spending time with my family. 💕

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.