Families logo

Story of my life and who I am

This is the story of what makes a person and creates us as person from a young age

By Mia Kronhøj McShanePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I thought I would start my first story with who I am.

I was born in a small town in Denmark to my mum and dad who this stage were together, happily I assume.

When I was five years old my first brother was born and when I was 10 years old my second brother was born. At this stage we moved out of the family home and into a small apartment in another small town, which was close by.

At this stage I was 10 or 11 years old and happily living life and not knowing what hard changes were to come.

In 1999, just after Christmas my whole world came tumbling down.I woke up to plates, chairs or anythingt that could move being thrown around the house.

Christmas for many years were hard for me. Being from European background, Christmas is big for us and “hyggelig” but for most years until I had my own children, I still loved Christmas but it always felt like it wasn’t the same and mostly this was in my head as the man my mum had cheated with took me and my brothers in and treated us as his own kids. Still, Christmas always made me remember the next morning where my world had crashed down.

After I had my own children it created a new joy. We kept the Danish traditions (here in AUS) I had grown up with but with my own family, all of a sudden it wasn’t about what had had happened when I was a child but out creating magic for my children.

But back to the story HAHA, got distracted:

My mum told my dad that she was leaving and she had been having an affair for over two years.

I went from being a happy child thinking life is perfect to waking up and my whole world falling apart.I was 14 years old and to be honest probably a little sheltered.

When my mum told my dad these horrible news, he obviously told her to get out, as anyone would’ve done and I hope everyone still would.

From that moment and for a few months (I can’t remember how long) I had to stand up and pretty much be the mother to my brothers.I felt like I was doing everything; getting them ready for school, organising their lunches and after school coming home getting dinner read. It was tough but I wouldn’t change a single thing, because it gave me more respect for my dad that I ever could’ve had otherwise and I think it made me closer to my oldest, than we would’ve been otherwise. as we only have each other.

This experience, in someways, made me want love, happy marriage and my own happy fairytale.I know now at the age of 35 that this is not how life works, I will cover this at a later stage.

As I said I wouldn’t change a thing but it did make my teenage years tough and pulled me apart from my mother.

I’m not sure why my mother failed but she did and I do know that, from that day of her moving out (after telling my father she cheated) I never felt the love again that a child should feel from their mother. Weather she didn’t have any more live within her she or she didn’t have the energy or a third reason, I will never know but such is life thank you for reading this far and I will put up another one.

It’s funny even as an adult thinking back to those times, it still makes me feel like a lost teenager.

I dream of being the help a lost teenager needs today but most of these lost teenagers don’t reach out or the way they reach out isn’t necessary in ways that is obviously.

I rebelled by choosing a school further away from my family than most others in my small town.

*Life is a funny road that we will travel and some of us get a bumpy one and others a smooth road*

divorced
Like

About the Creator

Mia Kronhøj McShane

I am a dual citizen from Denmark living in Tasmania, Australia.

I am a mother, single parenting of 2 amazing girls with my new partner.

I want to use this forum to tell my story and o hope to inspire other people and help anyone

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.