Families logo

Story behind a perfect photo

The struggles behind those pretty smiles

By Sadia KhanPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

There is something very common these days....looking at other people’s pics and feeling low about our own life. Even if it is for a few minutes this thought comes to mind...”wow look at those smiles, beautiful beach and gorgeous view, these people are so lucky”

Yes we see the picture, we like it, we comment on it and we move on....some days we fight with ourself...I should have pictures like these...my family is pretty perfect too! Why don’t we capture images like this when we are having fun...let me tell you a secret behind those perfectly captured moments- they are nerve wrecking lol!

My story is about our most recent family photo. According to most of my friends I am blessed to have such obedient children, they are ready for lengthy photoshoots 🤔.

Mother’s Day was fast approaching and due to Qurantine we had no plans. Every year I get 6 chocolate covered strawberries and flowers. The strawberries don’t survive the ride home and my girls remind me sharing is caring 🤣...I am perfectly happy with this sweet Mother’s Day trend however this year the edible arrangements hubby orders from was closed due to lockdown so Zoha planned we will have a photoshoot since mumma loves pictures and get flowers and call it a day!

I loved the idea and contacted a photographer to book a session. I set it all up a month in advance so we are all well aware and prepared. The photographer and his wife are a young couple and meeting someone who has no kids gives me anxiety...I feel like they won’t understand us being late, they won’t really know what is a temper tantrum or they won’t know how long a toddlers diaper change takes....

Anyhow I set up everyone’s outfits in advance....we were scheduled to meet this lovely couple at 6pm. The day went by lazy with Mother’s Day celebrations....I got breakfast in bed, presents and flowers. Then we ordered a yummy lunch...and everyone had their showers and hairstyles were in the making...Zayd missed his nap and had a few tantrums....he even threw up on me after crying for so long, I had to take another shower and quickly do my hair 🙄

We were actually able to make it in time to the park that we picked for our shoot. Before we could get out the car Zyva decided she is not happy with her outfit cause it’s not the pink she likes 🤨....hubby started to make her understand it’s a gorgeous color and you look the prettiest but she just wouldn’t come out the car. I let hubby, Zayd and Zoha go....and sat down with Zyva telling a story that changed her mood.

We finally came out the car when I saw Zayd running away 😳....hubby running after him 🤣....I got there and the talkative me introduced ourselves to the photographer and his wife. I had to hold Zayd tight cause all he wanted to do was escape 😨....the couple managed to do some clicks for us...zoha didn’t want to smile, Zyva was too shy and Zayd only wanted to touch the water 🤨...

With a lot of patience and not a lot of cooperation the photographer managed to click some good shots...it was Ramadan as well and we had to be home in time to break our fast. We finally finished it all and came home. The next day I got a message from the photographer...he got a virus on his computer and the pictures are lost 😳

I said no worries it wasn’t meant to be....deep in my heart I made a prayer for some miracle 🥰....finally after a few weeks he was able to recover all is work and sent us these pics! So my friends this gorgeous pic was taken with a lot of hard work, patience, yelling of a mother, not so happy kids, a grumpy husband cause his wife won’t stop with the poses 😁....but in the end we made a memory of a happy family! Allhumdullillah

Next time you see someone’s gorgeous family pic make a plan to get yours done and I can guarantee you....when you get the pictures you will have a big smile cause it’s all worth it in the end ❤️

feature
1

About the Creator

Sadia Khan

I am a blogger at Mommy of Z kids on Facebook. Also have a website: www.MommyofZkids.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.