Families logo

Spirit Knows

Graceful Nose

By Toni ComptonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Spirit Knows
Photo by Maria Lysenko on Unsplash

Sometimes, Spirit moves us in ways that seem so insignificant but can be quite meaningful to others.

The day dawned a good day for a softball game. Sunshine and clear skies invited the players, including my granddaughters, to their game. My son was the team coach so I had double interest in attending these games. My son played in the Little League as a child. He developed a love for ballgames. He had determined that when his twin daughters were old enough, he made certain they could play softball if they wanted.

The bleachers began to fill with families and friends of the players. The players had some practice in batting and catching the ball, along with pitching and throwing the ball. The crowd was filling the bleachers and excitement hung in the air. Chitter-chatter was increasing as more and more fans, families and friends were finding spots in the bleachers.

The opposing team was arriving and pleasantries were exchanged. The home base umpire called for the teams' captains to choose heads or tails as he flipped a coin. The opposing team won the toss and elected to bat first.

As we were waiting for the game to begin, I began talking to one of the mothers. She had her younger daughter with her, who is nine years old. As I looked over at the younger girl, a sparkle on the end of her nose caused me to comment to the young girl that her nose had a very graceful bridge and ended with a very slight upturn. I commented to the little girl, "My goodness, you have one of the cutest noses I have ever seen." She began to smile.

"I can't believe you just said that," her mother exclaimed. I was shook out of the magic of the moment. believing I had said something wrong. Her mother, quite shaken, continued, "Earlier today, as we were getting ready for the game, my younger daughter was being teased by her older sister and her older sister's teammate."

"I can't believe you just said that," she declared again, clearly astonished by the serendipity . "My younger daughter took quite a teasing from her older sister and her older sister's teammate as we were preparing to leave for the game, "the two older girls teased her that her nose is too big."

I smiled at the little girl and I told her her nose was not too big. In fact, I offered her, she had a perfectly wonderful nose, with a graceful bridge and the line of her nose ending with a sweet upturn. I told her her sister and her sister's friend did not know what they were talking about.

Her mother was so tickled that when the game was over, she called to her older daughter and her friend. When they came over, she asked me to repeat what I had said to the younger girl regarding her nose. The younger girl was just beaming as I told the older girls what I saw. Her mother kept repeating that she just could not believe what I said as the younger one had been so teased earlier in the day.

On the way home, I considered the coincidences relating to that young girl's nose. How did that sparkle appear on the end of her nose? How did I happen to see it? What caused me to share with her what a cute nose she had? Why had the two older girls chosen that time to tease the younger one about her nose? These questions have no answers, but that synchronicity hung in the air.

"Huh," I thought, " Synchronicity is the answer when simultaneous occurrences which apparently have no clear cause, are deeply meaningful."

And so it was.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.