Families logo

Soul Sisters

Finding a life long connection

By Liana HewittPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Soul Sisters
Photo by Erfan Moradi on Unsplash

I never had a sister before. Sure, I've had female family members, role models. But not a sister. I didn't know what I was missing. Friends that had sisters more often than not seemed to think that their siblings were a nuisance. I could relate with my experience of having a brother but I thought that sisterly bond might be different.

To be honest, when I met you I thought that you might be a nuisance. I wasn't used to someone younger always hanging around and like a true younger sister you did always want to be around. I'm happy to say that I was wrong, you weren't a nuisance. Your presence was always welcome, no matter what I was doing, I always had time for you.

Though I am older than you, I feel like we have grown up together. Our lives running parallel, almost mimicking each other. Our lives changing and growing but always allowing room for the other to grow and expand. I often smile when we tell stories to each other and then laugh when we realize our similar experiences or reactions. As they say, birds of a feather will flock together.

Our roles started with me caring for you, like a true older sister. Helping you grow into the gorgeous young woman that you have become. Over time this changed into a beautiful friendship, us being there for each other. Learning together, even when we are apart.

When I am depressed you are there for me and I for you when the roles are reversed. When I feel like it's me against the world, you're the only one that I want to talk to. I isolate myself from everyone but you. For it is you I can tell everything. Your advice that I seek. You always know the right thing to say, even if it is the tough thing to say.

We've been through everything together. The lows, the highs and everything in between. We've battled break ups, first dates, job changes, family issues, everything. Always there with advice, a kind word or even the tough love that is sometimes needed. A shoulder to cry on when the times are tough and the brightest smile when everything is good in the world.

A day where I don't hear from you is a day where I am missing a part of me. I crave to hear from you. Hear of your adventures or misadventures as the case may be. To laugh with you, cry with you and gain wisdom from you. The empty space is noticeable. The silence makes the day seems longer than it could possibly ever be.

A soul sister is something even better than a sister. A soul sister is someone that you can relate to on a whole other level. You get each other and never run out of things to say. You can talk forever, the topics endless. You can also be there for each other in complete silence. Being with each other is uplifting. Inspiring. Even if it's just through an email or a text. A sister of your soul.

While I've had other friends before. Good friends, best friends. Nothing beats your soul family. When I found my soul sister I knew we'd be there for each other forever. For as long as we each need the other.

Thank you. For being there for me. For being a true friend. For being my soul sister.

siblings
1

About the Creator

Liana Hewitt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.