Families logo

SON, YOU MADE DAADA PROUD!

ORIGAMI CLASSES

By McEstus Adeshina OshinowoPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

SON, YOU MADE DAADA PROUD!

A couple of weeks back, my darling wife had been pestering me to please come over to my son's school (where she teaches) to come and take the pupils through "Origami" ( a Japanese art of folding paper into different objects).

I kept declining and giving excuses over my busy schedules till she finally got me today.

My 7years old son had no knowledge of my coming and that makes it suspenseful for me.

The school is one of those Montessori outfit where all their teachings is fashioned after that of Italian type of Education (where all things taught must be seen and touched).

I left my office and in record time, I was at the school gate. The security personnel ushered me in and called my wife's attention.

My beautiful angel came out and met me halfway, beaming with smile and very happy that I could come around.

She warned me ahead that her classroom is upstairs and my need to be careful with my crutches on the tiled floor.

We were about taking the stairs when we walked into some under-5 kids coming out of the toilet (obviously, they've gone for their minutes by minutes "wee-wee" and "poo-poo" things). There and then I got my first 'starring moment' (with more to come).

"Who is this daddy?, what are those things in his hands?, why is he walking in a funny way?, how is he going to climb the stairs?. In one quick glance, I saw all that curiosity in their young innocent faces and further imaging what would be running through their tender hearts.

Trust my wife in rising up to the occasion, "Fikayo!, Ini!, Tile!, what are you starring at?" "Come on!...off you go to your classes"

"Honey! let them be, you know children and their curious nature" "I've been anticipating those looks and I welcome them a lot" I cautioned her while I mount the stairs. She helped with one of my crutches while I grabbed the railings for support.

Little did I know that the first of many classes she's taking me to happens to be my son's classroom and they were in the middle of a Maths lesson.

On opening the door, a class that was buzzing with activities suddenly went mute and this momentary silence was thick enough to cut through with a knife! (No thanks to the strange look I pose with my crutches!)

And then out of the blues, with no warning! and to the utter amazement of his classmates, came that unique but familiar scream "Daada!!!" and he practically ran out of his classroom to give me more than a bear hug which left me speechless and reeling with excitement. It was a moment that will remain indelible in me.

Not done with his happiness, my dear son was about going as far as lifting me off the ground (I don't know where the strength came from) but for the timely intervention of my wife.

"Don't fall my husband o!"

He was so unashamed and overly excited that I had to whisper "Igbagbo, we are in school" before he could let go.

Amidst all these acts, his mates couldn't help starring with envy and admiration!

Their equally surprised teacher quickly asked them to settle down while I was introduced by my wife as a Guest Artist.

I sat down, put on my best smile, coughed a little and made my introduction.

"Hello children, seated before you is Uncle Mac and I will be with you for the next 30 minutes while I take you through a Japanese art called "Origami" "Have you heard about Origami?"

To which 90% of them chorused "Nooo!"

I then took my time to explain to them all that Origami entails and they were all eager for me to get started.

I told them that due to their approaching examination, we would only have time to make a shirt with paper.

I asked their teacher to distribute plane A4 papers to them and instruct them to follow and fold alongside with me.

Some got it at first attempt while some had to come around me with "Uncle, is it like this?" "...did I get it right?" "Uncle, I need a new paper"...and so on.

They all had a field day with the paper-folding, after which I asked them to come forward for assessment and in order to be fair to all and keep their happiness, I gave a pass mark to all of them (even though...)

Afterwards, they all clapped, screamed and expressed their gratitude even as I made my way to the next class.

Here again, the previous scenerio played itself all over again (you know how it is with kids). I then moved to a third and a fourth class to still display Origami.

At the end of the day, there was a great exchange of ideas, fun, excitement and fulfillment. More especially for my acceptability and what I've impacted in their young minds.

I left that school with my head held high and feeling fulfilled that barring all oppositions; in the face of all and sundry, my dearest son accepted me unashamedly (with my crutches) and was so proud to show me off!

I was fagged out by the time I got home and had to eagle-spread on the bed to get my strength back. Of course my mind went scanning over all of today's memorable event.

What more do I want but to continually be grateful to God for everything. My wife has always been blind to my crutches, she sees me as a physically fit person who can take on any Herculean task but now for a 7-year old boy to throw caution to the wind and be brave to let all and sundry know that 'Yeah!, I might be on crutches, I remain his "Daada" and he is proud of me!' Its indeed worth thanking God for.

Much later in the evening, my wife and son got back home and still basking in the euphoria of today's achievement, she was all over me (I mean with hugs only!)

"Honey, thanks a great deal for coming around today, all the kids were so excited with their Origami shirts"

"Lets just thank God" I replied

"Honey! you won't believe it" "...the shout of 'Aunty Toun, thank you!' from the kids rented the air till their parents came to pick them all"

Now my son chose that moment to walk up to me and repeated that famous bear hug and after the manner of Oliver Twist, he asked "Daada! when next are you coming to my school?" -THE END

humanity
2

About the Creator

McEstus Adeshina Oshinowo

I was barely 2years old when polio restricted me to crutches. However, that didn't stop me because today and by the special grace of God, I'm a B.Sc. Holder, an Artist, a Reality Writer, a Chess Guru, Sports Analyst and hhhmmm!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.