Families logo

Some Mothers Add To The Sexual Harassment & Assault Of Their Children

I was unaware at that moment in time that she just saved me from being sexually assaulted.

By Annelise Lords Published 8 months ago 5 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

Reading What’s a Little Sexual Harassment Between Friends? By Susan Wheelock.

And her power of words ignited flames that lay dormant inside of me. My pain journeyed deeper within me, removing clouds from my memories. This transported me back to a place and time when some mothers contributed to the sexual harassment of their children.

In my culture, the emotional state of children is never under consideration. I learned that at an early age.

Also, culturally, the female body is an asset. And for some, it’s the only asset they have.

My mother had six girls and one boy. Five girls lived with her. I remember lots of males living in our yards and next door, always giving her money and food for us. Even though my father worked and provided for us.

She never says no to their offer.

Culturally, if you take anything from these men, they believe they have a right to demand back something from you. Sex is always what they want in return. Lots of females got raped in Jamaica because of this barbaric way of thinking.

That’s the first lesson I learned as a child.

My solution is, “Take nothing from males, especially ones you are not related to.” I etched it into the memory of all of my children in their sex education lessons.

Mr. Fiddler was living with Miss Ivy and was always staring at me and sending over things for me and my sisters. His entire head was gray.

My innocent mind couldn’t understand why, but I was always watching and wondering. After my father left, more men would give her stuff. I don’t think she was in a relationship with them.

I was probably about eight or nine years old and one of the tenants, Mr. Francis lived next door where we would play, was always eyeing me and offering me stuff.

The child in me couldn’t understand why.

One day he called me to his room, gave me $5 and asked me if he could play with me.

Before I could respond, a familiar voice called out, “where are you? Come here now!”

“Blossom is calling me,” I said.

“Give me back my money,” he demands.

I returned his money and went downstairs to Blossom who was waiting for me.

I was unaware at that moment in time that she just saved me from being sexually assaulted and probably murdered.

That memory stayed with me for more than forty years. And when I realized how close I came to being raped, it send pain through my body, mind, and soul.

I know my mother would blame me for what happened.

The molestation of children was buried so deep that not even the innocent victims were aware of their molestation. It wasn’t talked about. But I know it happened because that was not my first attempted rape or sexual harassment as a child. Many of these mothers are so greedy and impressed by the power, position, and wealth of these men, that they consciously and unconsciously hand over their children to them.

My curious mind wants to know why these men are interested in seeing and giving her stuff for children that aren’t theirs. Plus, she wasn’t in a relationship with them.

My mother allowed her nine and ten-year-old daughters, to attend a Roberta Flack concert, with an adult male at night, who wasn’t their father. He is always giving her money and asking to see me. He must have because she often encourages us to go visit Mr. So, and So.

We weren’t old enough to understand that kind of music.

A male who is always giving her money got a Saturday job for me to answer the phones and take orders at a Pest Control place. The owner, Mr. Miller gave me a blank check to buy books and school supplies. Then he started to pressure thirteen-year-old me for sex. Telling me that many girls who worked there in the past gave him what he wanted.

He went on to tell me about a female I know who slept with him the night before she got married. I refused and he found ways to let me go. Someone else took my place and he gave her a blank check. He got what he wanted from her because she stayed on longer than I.

That bastard was married with two daughters and a son whose pictures were on his desk in his office.

I noticed that for women with girl children, many men are always around. Some of these women are aware of what these men are after. Others aren’t, because of how these men present themselves, and the words and style they use to flatter these females to get to their children.

Sex education and sex harassment should be taught to both sexes at an early age. With the appropriate knowledge, many children could be saved from the pain and agony they endure that will accompany them into adulthood and wreck their lives. While contributing to their mental health issues.

Many angels were out there looking out for me. I know some by name. Awareness, Common Sense, and Fear. I read a lot, so I had lots of knowledge to make decisions from. My instincts were alive, so it aided and abetted experiences my innocence couldn’t provide. I didn’t give my brain rest, and my curiosity was off the chart.

Susan says, “I don’t believe this will ever end.”

It can end, in unity along with love and the need to save the emotional state of our children, both sexes, anything is possible.

Sex has destroyed more lives than wars, hatred, greed, cruelty, etc.

How?

The scars are invisible, making them almost impossible to heal. The pain aimlessly goes on to the next generation, its causes repeating in the actions, choices, decisions, and habits of the ancestors of victims and the perpetrators.

DNA can’t detect bad habits, which is sometimes worse than the diseases they can identify.

Maybe Susan is right, the Sexual harassment of females, adults, or children will never end!

What do you think?

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it.

CONTENT WARNINGvaluesparentschildrenadvice
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.