Families logo

Social Security Widow's Pension Is Not What You May Think

If you are a retired woman who has her own benefits you will not get your husband's pension when he dies.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Social Security Widow's Pension Is Not What You May Think
Photo by Tom Watkins on Unsplash

If you are a married woman over age 60 and receiving Social Security retirement or disability benefits there is something you should be aware of. It's important that you be advised that if your husband precedes you in death you might not obtain any of his retirement benefits. At this current time, Social Security pays a one-time lump sum of $255.00 as a burial benefit to a survivor of anyone who dies who has paid into the system. This might be the only money you qualify for if your husband dies. Perhaps you have assumed that you will receive a widow's pension but there are some conditions that apply.

Both my husband and I were receiving Social Security benefits but when he passed away all I qualified for was the $255.00. The reason is that my monthly benefit was more than my spouse's. Let's say I was receiving $200.00 a month less than he was, then I would have received $200.00 extra a month. If I were not receiving my own money from Social Security then I would have received my spouse's entire monthly benefit amount. Social Security told me that they will not pay double benefits so because I receive my own I am not entitled to any of my husband's money.

My spouse worked from the age of 14 until he was disabled at age 58. He only received his Social Security for 5 years. Like others in my family who worked 30 or 40 years and passed away, my husband is gone and did not get to enjoy the money that was taken from his paycheck. Neither will anyone else in the family enjoy the benefits. We hear a lot about the system being overtaxed but no one talks about those who die prior to retirement and never collect $1.00 of their hard earned money or wives in my situation who could use that money but are not eligible for it.

It is disappointing that the system is set up this way and that widows who receive their own Social Security will not be able to get even a portion of their husband's money. One half of my monthly income is now gone. Between COVID and my age it's not likely that I can just go out and get a job to supplement my income. Like other widows before me and many who come after I have the same monthly bills with less income. My husband and I had to use the money we had set aside for retirement for family emergencies and never were able to replace it.

Wives please heed this warning and know how important it is to have something set aside in the case of the death of your spouse. My husband once had a large life insurance policy that would have made sure I had enough money if he passed first. Being laid off and having hours cut, along with medical expenses put us in a situation where we could no longer afford the premium. Due to COVID-19 there are probably even more couples in this situation. My heart goes out to women everywhere who might end up with only the $255.00.

It's important to know the facts and not be blindsided. I have heard the term widows pension for most of my life and assumed it was something automatic. I do recall that my great aunt struggled after her husband of 40 years passed away. I was in my early 20s and after my uncle died my aunt began getting his pension. This is because she was not receiving Social Security in her own name and was still working. Life became difficult for her she ended up moving several times. When she retired she only had the one income. I remember helping her out financially as did my grandma but I was too young to understand her exact situation, but now I do.

advice
5

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.