Families logo

Single Parenting

Reality Check

By Barbara CarleyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

So I noticed on Facebook or any social media site that not very many people will post the bad things that their kids do and only post the good. Well here's a news flash: it is okay to post the bad. Do I discipline my kids? Yeah I do. Do I spank them? Yeah I do. Do I take toys away? Yeah of course. Do I use timeouts? Yeah I do, just to change things up. Granted, I don't like spanking my kids. I don't like doing it one bit, but sometimes a time-out doesn't always work, and neither does taking toys away. So no parent should feel ashamed to only have to post the good.

There are going to be times where kids are going to have bad behavior, but then there are those little moments where kids are really good. As frustrating as parents can get, they remember why they had children in the first place. I love my kids. Do they do bad things? All the time. It's normal. There's no such thing as a perfect child. As much as my kids get in trouble and as frustrated as I get, to where I want to scream and cry and just give up, I can't. At the end of the day when it is time for bed, and despite how many times I've yelled at them or spank them or discipline them in any way I always get to hear I love you Mommy and it warms my heart because no matter how much trouble they get in they still love me no matter what. How am I supposed to give up when they do that. My kids fight constantly all the time and then there are those little moments in between where they're sitting on the floor playing with toys and playing together nicely no fighting no arguing no yelling at each other and that there makes me believe that I am doing my job as a parent.

There is no such thing as a perfect parent. Every parent is different. Everybody has a different parenting style and that's okay. There's nothing wrong with that. You are a good parent. You are raising children to follow their dreams and to make what they want to do in life a reality and to make the world a better place. So as frustrating as children can be and as much as you want to scream your head off and just give up, don't, because they love you no matter what you do. They are the future and it is our job as parents to give them the confidence to become whatever they want. It is our job to lead them down the good path and there's nothing wrong with that. So don't be ashamed to post the bad on social media along with the good.

Don't let people be judgmental as to how you parent your children. Don't let the comments, the negative comments, get to you. There's a positive side to every negative comment. Flip the words around if you have to and turn it to positive and it's okay to ask for help or ask for advice or an idea of what to do. It's okay to be frustrated. It's okay to vent it out. It's okay to let it out. So this is my opinion, and I don't care if anyone likes it. My job is not to make sure everybody else is happy with my opinion it's what I believe in and that's all that matters. Thank you.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.