Families logo

Single Parent (Pt. 1)

The Beginning—Worries and Self-Doubt

By Nicole CormierPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

My own personal story begins when my daughter moved out of our place to start her life. And my story begins when I found out I was pregnant with her 21 years ago. You see, with her starting her own life, I'm left with the empty nest syndrome. I'm left with a lot of time to review my life. I was a single parent for her whole life. Her father left when I was pregnant and I never got together with anyone else.

Am I still a single parent now that she's an adult? Now that she's moved out on her how? Did I give her all the tools and knowledge she'll need to fly on her own? Was I a good parent? Was I a good-enough parent? Did I force my fears onto her, my expectations, my wants?

To start with, even before she was conceived, I had already dealt with two major depressions. And I've always had social anxieties and self-doubt. Of course, none of those problems were acknowledged when I was a teenager because they didn't 'exist' medically.

So, I found out I was pregnant when I was 23-years-old. Her father seemed happy at the time, even told me he would be there for me. We didn't talk for a whole week after he went home that day. He would not answer his phone or return my calls, not for lack of trying on my part. I left voicemail after voicemail. He finally called me back and broke up with me.

Panic set in. Do I have an abortion? But I do not believe in abortions. For myself, I do believe that women have the right to choose, but for me personally, I knew I could never do that. I started sleeping a lot . How am I going to do this? I make myself some Kraft dinner and think, "Oh, God! I can't even cook a proper meal. How can I take care of you if I can't take care of myself?"

Adoption? Could I go through the whole pregnancy and then put you up for adoption? Is that selfish of me if I can't? Is it selfish if I do? How can I raise a child if I'm selfish? I feel alone. The only friend of mine who has a child is Josee (name changed because I didn't ask permission to put her name in this), my then sister-in-law and she's going through the 'baby-blues' and it would take her a bit to get out of it. None of my other friends can relate, and Josee is either sleeping or crying. Who do I talk to? Do I want to admit all this self-doubt I have? People will think I'm a bad mom before my daughter is even born. How can I admit to all this self-doubt?

I'm gonna be a mom, a single mom. I'm gonna need to be strong for her, to show her how to be strong and independent. What if the baby is a he? I don't have 'he' parts. I don't know the maintenance of 'he' parts. I hope it's a girl.

Of course, I would never admit to anyone at the time that I wanted a girl, because I thought if I would say it out loud, I would be judged. Or if I said it and then I had a boy, would people tell him I didn't want him because I wanted a girl?

To be continued...

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Cormier

I'm 50 years old and have a daughter of 25 who I've raised by myself. I've always loved writing, although I've never gotten anything published. Little Cap is my first ever fan fiction story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.