Families logo

Single Mom

Tough Times

By Jessica HawkPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
My daughter on her 6th birthday

Ok, so has anyone felt frustrated being a single parent with having to deal with the normal stress of getting your child up for school, go to work, pick your child up, go home, have child do school work while your doing dinner?

I have had to do that more as a single mother as well as the attitude my child gives me. I love my child, she is goofy, she is smart, she loves to play games, she is a beautiful little girl, but there are days that i feel so drained that it is tiring to do anything but the necessities with her. Now, throw in the covid19 BS and you got people pulling their hair out, fighting with their children to do school work at home more, not getting that "me time" everyone tells you to have. You want to be able to enjoy the time with your children, but you also need that alone time for yourself to kinda regroup and reassess what is on your plate.

Covid19 pushed all us single parents to be home with our children who may tend to fight a lot more then they would have since they get to spend time with their teachers and friends at school. If you have social butterflies, then its even more of a challenge for them to understand, especially as young as my girl is, that due to a deadly virus they can no longer see thier friends and teachers at school on a regular basis, but it has to be over video chat. whether you use skype, zoom, facebook messenger, whatever you use it is not easy for your children, just as much if not more then you.

So, a little about my day, we did an assignment that we enjoyed doing, we went on a nature walk. I had her look and find any type of bugs she could find, I also had her listen as well. she loved that time spending time with me, for her it was time to spend with me since she is an only child. so any time she gets with me outside of youtube videos she likes to watch regarding minecraft is special to her, there are going to be times where she wants my attention and everyone, including me needs to understand that yes this is a frustrating and scary time, but you also have to remember that this time is special for your child before they leave the house one day.

single
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.