Families logo

Say his name

James William Cecil Datson Watt

By Emma DatsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
5
My premature son's foot prints

This is my first story outside of poets and is deeply personal to me. It was written recently in a response to the writing prompt 'anniversary'. It is about my beautiful son, James. He was with us for all too short a time but has left indelible marks not only on mine and his father's lives but many others as well. James is who made me a mother, even though I don't get to watch him grow up, and he is still a source of inspiration for me, in my art, my poetry, and my life. Whenever I see a butterfly, I know James is there, sending me love and watching over me.

I have posted this here in Families, as to me, James is the only son I will ever have. It's just my family story is one of grief and love. I hope after reading this, you will help me remember James by saying his name with me.

It is James’ anniversary this month, well two really. It is both his birthday and death day, within two days of each other. You see my son, James, was born at 24 weeks gestation. My waters had broken at 22 weeks and my little warrior held on for 2 more weeks because he knew they would only try to save his life from 24 weeks on. James heard this, held on, and was born at 7.04 am weighing 555 grams, 24 July 2015, at exactly 24 weeks. Unfortunately for him and us, he was born with a very bad brain hemorrhage. If it had been smaller, the brain could have absorbed the blood, but it was too large, James already had permanent brain damage.

So, we did the hardest thing any parent has to do but also the kindest thing we could do for him, turned off his care, 2 days later, 26 July 2015. He died on his father’s chest with his Mummy kissing him at approximately 8.35 pm. His Grandma, Uncle, Aunty, and a cousin all got to say goodbye to him first. Then after, when Daddy had to go, oh he was so brave, Mummy and Grandma washed him, with his Uncle looking on. Then we dressed him in a beautiful angel gown. That gown I will remember forever, it looked like an Elvis suit from the 1970’s, all sequins and dazzle, James was cremated looking like the king.

There are so many things that are sad about what happened. I could name many but the most important ones are: I never got to experience being fully pregnant, you don’t know how much I was looking forward to being fat and awkward at 40 weeks; I never got to watch my son grow up, and all that entails, nor did his Father, Grandparents, Aunties, Uncles or cousins; I have had at least two miscarriages since James, so no rainbow baby for me; I will probably never be a mother, I’m 45 and peri-menopausal; and, I have no descendants, beyond nephews and nieces to carry on my name.

Losing a child is such an ineffable experience and not one I ever hoped to do but I had no choice in the matter. In the end James’ father and I did the best parents can do for their children – we gave him love. James was made with love, born with love, and died surrounded by love. What more could we do?

James William Cecil Datson Watt 24/07/15 – 26/07/15, the two most important anniversaries I have. Help me remember my son, say his name with me, and everyone else who loves him, on these dates.

Light, love

grief
5

About the Creator

Emma Datson

I am 40ish, medically interesting, Australian poet, who is finally using her voice. My superpower is my vocabulary. Dive in and read an eclectic mix of poetry and creative non-fiction, full of love, grief and hope. Light, love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.