Families logo

Rules that society has imposed on women

A story about culture and religion

By lubna ahmedPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
1

I was born and raised in India, in an Asian family. I grew up in a small community called Kolkata in Deli. My mother tongue is Bengali, and we are known as the Bengali nation. I identify myself as an Asian because my family and I believe that based on our culture. Being in an Asian Muslim household, adopting and maintaining Muslim religious practices were of great importance. Similarly, to education, religion holds strong values in my family and our culture. Since birth, my parents were obligated to help guide and teach me about our cultural practices and beliefs. As they grew up with Islam, they take it very seriously and essential, and they make sure that their children will be raised that way. They will know their culture very well and they teach our cultural practices such as architecture, cooking, literature, and painting.

When I analyze my culture and my strengths, I assume I grew up as a weak woman because women had no power in my culture. Women were not equal to men, I had to face gender inequality as well as numerous challenges. For instance, in education women were not allowed to complete their education beyond the tenth grade only men were permitted to continue and complete it. Women are expected to stay at home, get married early, and take care of their families. I had to stop studying in tenth grade due to these restrictions. People in my culture also think that if a girl's skin tone is dark or she is overweight, she will never get married. This is relevant to me since I used to be obese at home, and they used to criticize me about it. People were also making negative remarks about me, saying things like "no one would marry you." "No one will like you," "Eat less, go to the gym," and other hateful comments. People in my culture have stereotypes about obese girls, and they don't care how the individual is feeling.

However, My parents and I arrived in the United States five years ago. When my parents and I first came to the United States, we didn't speak English very well. However, I convinced my parents that I wanted to complete my studies and learn English. My parents didn't want to break the law, which was made by culture. I subsequently persuaded my parents by claiming that in the culture we lived in at the time, women lacked the power to make decisions and continue their studies. However, in the United States, women are allowed to get an education. They can make their own decisions, and they have the right to continue their education. There is no difference between men and women in America. It is time to stop fooling us and start breaking the rules that society has imposed on women. However, saying overweight someone and obese It’s actually very sad. I remember it because most of the girls in the village I know can’t take this kind of comment and they committed suicide. This is very sad to hear because this is not something anyone should say to someone. Our society should stop this kind of behavior and start treating people like they are also beautiful the way they are. Women should be should be free and equal to men there should be no discrimination against women and no judgement for them. They are beautiful in evry way they look. So, if we as community come across together and stop things kind of thought on women then women will never have to face embraced in thier culture and community.

pop culture
1

About the Creator

lubna ahmed

Hello, this is Lubna.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test6 months ago

    It is great that you were able to convince your parents to let you continue your studies in the United States, even though it went against the cultural norms of your community. It is also great that you are speaking out against gender inequality and body shaming. It is important to remember that everyone is beautiful in their own way, and that we should not judge others based on their appearance. We should also work to create a society where everyone has the opportunity to reach their full potential, regardless of their gender or background.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.