Families logo

Rover The Rat

A Children’s Bedtime Story

By J. S. WadePublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
10
My Children

Storytime for my two children evolved, one night, when my five-year-old son, Hampton, rejected a repeat of the same bedtime story off of the bookshelf.

He said, "Dad, make up a story for us."

That night, in the tradition of storytellers the world over, Rover the Rat and Tabby the Cat were born, impromptu.

In the months and years that passed, the characters of Tony the Pony, Tiny the Dog, and Sam the Ham were added as they made friends in the neighborhood. Sam the Ham was not an allusion to obesity but a friend of theirs that ate all the time. As we say in the South, "He had hollow legs."

Each story, crafted in an oral tradition, took on a morality of its own based on the events of the day. Some nights I was absent on business and they expected a written Rover the Rat story to be ready to read to them.

Through the bedtime story's characters I was able to teach them about love, friendship, and how to share with others. They learned the importance of truth and how to resolve conflicts of the day.

One night, when I completed a story about truth, my son said,

"I'm Rover the Rat. Right Dad?"

I said, "Yes, son.!

"Tabby the Cat is Sis?"

"Yes. I confimed."

He said, "I thought so."

My children, through ups, downs, and challenges of life made me proud as they developed character traits that any parent would be blessed to witness.

I dedicate this story to my son, Hampton, who we lost three years ago in a tragedy at the age twenty. I wish I could sit on the side of your bed and share the adventures of Rover the Rat one more time. Through telling, may Rover the Rat live forever.

*************

Rover The Rat and the Fair

Once upon a time Rover the rat, Tabby the cat, Tony the pony, Sam the Ham, and Tiny the Dog decided to go to the county fair.

Saturday came and they peddled their bicycles for miles until they could see the Ferris wheel in the distance.

"I can smell the corndogs." Sam the Ham said and peddled faster.

Tiny thought of the Ferris wheel and wanted to see everything, Tabby dreamed of the merry-go-round with its music, Rover knew the motorcycle ride would be cool, and Tony imagined the airplane ride would be scary.

They were friends and shared their money to buy a book of tickets so they could have more fun.

Rover the rat rode the motorcycles and felt beyond cool.

Tiny the Dog flew high on the Ferris Wheel and viewed the entire city.

Tabby the Cat spun in circles on the merry-go-round until she became dizzy.

Tony the Pony soared unafraid, up and down, on the plane ride. Sam the Ham ate a funnel cake.

Everyone had more fun than they had thought, dreamed, or imagined.

They met in the middle of the fair and checked their tickets. Two tickets remained, enough for one more ride.

"It was my idea to come so I should get ride the ride," Rover the Rat said.

Tabby The cat said, "No… I should get a ride to ride because I am a girl."

"No, no, no, I should get the ride because I am everybody's favorite," Tony the pony said.

Sam the Ham said, "I'm still hungry, and I need the tickets to buy a corndog so I can make it home on the bike."

Tiny the dog, with his big ears heard a boy crying a few yards away.

He said, "Hush everyone, listen!" and pointed towards the boy, "Why is he crying?"

The argument about who would get the last tickets stopped and Rover the Rat walked over to the young boy.

He asked, "What's wrong little boy?"

The boy, with tears in his eyes, said, "I came to the fair, but I don't have any money and I can't ride even one ride."

Rover the rat thought for a minute.

He said, "Please don't cry. Wait here, I will be right back," and Rover walked back to his friends.

He told them, "I think I know who should use the last tickets."

They all agreed and gave the tickets to the little boy named Billy.

Billy rode the motorcycle ride and had fun and thanked them for sharing the tickets.

Rover the Rat smiled and said, "See, Billy is cool like me."



It seemed like it took forever for the friends to ride their bikes home.

They rode in silence and Rover thought about the motorcycle ride, Tiny the Ferris wheel, Tony the airplane ride, and Tabby the merry-go-round. Sam thought about the wonderful smells and the tasty food.

They all arrived at their homes before the sun went down, took a bath, brushed their teeth, and went to bed.

Rover the Rats mom came into his room to tuck him in and tell him good night.

She asked him, "What was your favorite ride at the fair today? Was it the airplane ride or the motorcycle ride like last year?"

Rover the Rat answered, "The best ride was watching little Billy on the motorcycle ride." and told his mom how they had shared the last two tickets.

His mom smiled.

She said, "I am so proud of you, Rover," and kissed him on the cheek, "Good night, son."

Rover the Rat smiled, closed his eyes, went to sleep and they all lived happily ever after.

parents
10

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶3 months ago

    This entire story is so beautiful. When our children were young and didn't want to go to sleep after their bedtime stories, I would make up stories too. One son was crazy about trains, so they would start... "A long time ago in Scotland, the Flying Scotsman..." Good times. So very sorry that you lost your dear son... wonderful that you have such precious memories to cherish. Take care.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Enjoyed this children story 🙂

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    So sorry for the loss of your son. ❤️ What a wonderful activity to share with your children when they were young. Also a wonderful, fun way to teach morals and values.

  • I'm so sorry for the loss of your son 🥺 You should write a bedtime storybook. That story was fantastic! If your son is Rover the Rat and your daughter is Tabby the Cat, then I'm definitely Sam the Ham as I'd be more excited for the food, lol! 🤣 But I loved the moral of the story: Seeing others happy because of us is the best kind of happiness!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.