Families logo

Resolution of a Mother

By: Jessica Harris

By Jessica HarrisPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Resolution of a Mother
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Well my dear reader, It's that time of year again. Where we get to make a list of resolutions. We probably will never do or compete. The past few years have been hard on everyone. Some have had it harder than others. While some have found the light at the end of the tunnel. As a stay-at-home mother of four wonderful young children. My resolutions for this year will be a little different from the past years. So here they are:

Find healthier fun eating dinners

With a 7,5,3, and 1 year old, it's hard to find good healthy meals all my picky little eaters will agree on. Mac and Cheese with Chicken tenders kinda gets old after a while. Even if my children don't think so.

Keep reading fun for the kids

My two oldest boys love stories, but getting them to read is a whole different story. While my two little girls would rather they try to read to us. As a child I hated reading. It was hard for me, but I had an amazing 2nd grade teacher. Who showed me reading was fun. For my boys it's the same, but I have yet to find something to help them. For my girls I love the fact they want to read to me, but I wish they would slow down and let me read to them.

Start my writing

For years I have been trying to start something for myself. I have always written in a Journal, but never published anything. This year I want to try and see what happens. This is the only thing I let myself have when I need to wind down from the day and get ready for bed. For some, writing is a job. For me, it's my escape. Like being able to travel and live in fairytales. Just from reading!

Have more mini family vacations

We found out last year, after having mini vacations. Where we could all go, be happy and relaxed. Where everyday life felt as if it couldn't touch us. We always felt better, and closer as a family by the time we got back home.

Convert a Camper, RV, or Bus

I have always wanted to travel. Now with my Husband getting in a position where we can possibly travel and home school. I'm ready to tackle converting/customizing something to fit our family. Yes, I know this doesn't sound like Relaxing; but for me. A 27 year old mother, who has always done hard labor, worked on the land, and built things by her own hands. This is relaxing. This is rewarding, to see the end masterpiece of what you did. Not what someone else did for you, or that you could have bought it.

Try and slow time and enjoy this time

My children are growing older. They will only be so little for so long. I`m crying as I write this. With my youngest trying to sit in my lap and my other children sitting by me while watching a cartoon. How I wish I could freeze this time forever.

So, here is the start of my resolutions. The start of me finally doing something I love that gives me a have to. In order for me to take a breather from this crazy wonderful life. When my anxiety and patience runs thin. Because even mothers, whether you work full-time, stay home full-time, have one child or have 100 children. There will always be that day, that moment where everything feels like it's too much. Where nothing seems to be going right.

list

About the Creator

Jessica Harris

I`m a stay-at-home mother of two boys and 2 girls. A wife to an amazing husband. I love reading and writing from facts to fiction, romance, history, travel. and more. This is all new to me. I have never made my writings public till now/.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jessica HarrisWritten by Jessica Harris

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.