Families logo

Remember the moment,

To be in love

By Azrie'l JohnsonPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
1
Remember the moment,
Photo by Isaac Quesada on Unsplash

When our babies are first born and we’re “so in love” followed up by “I’m going to give you the world”, please remember that moment and those words when they become older.

There is no truth behind what we speak in love, if we are not fulfilling that from a place of an open heart. -Azrie’l

Beginning in their toddler stage they start to identify who they are through curiousity which will bring to surface your own underlying imperfections and insecurities. They began to explore their range of emotions not being fully aware of what each emotion represents. That is the moment to be in love with them and give them the world. Please deter from giving the children a harsh and rough world through physical discipline, mental anguish, and verbal abuse by making them feel smaller in confidence. On the other hand, please do exchange the world of love, compassion, empathy, understanding and respect because they are indeed still your baby.

I am speaking from my experience within our living environment and seeing it in public when I attend children events with my own. The children are treated as nothing within certain circumstances, as if they’re not allowed to make mistakes or discoveries early on and learn with growth. They are ridiculed for their expressions of emotions instead of met on their level to be guided with a gentle yet firm voice. Trust me I understand that many of us did not grow up with that approach being given to us. That is why you recognize your own upbringing and do your part with great effor to reverse it. Make that very healing and transparent move intentional to stop the cycle from looping within the family. We do NOT need to continue the cycle of abuse being passed down to our children.

Understand from another perspective that if we continue to treat our children that way they will grow up to be the adults we often try and do distance ourselves from. Our children need safety and genuine love in EVERY moment to have security. They especially need it to give to each other in their growing years of life. We expect loving and caring people, but we aren’t living that within our own homes. The cycle does not end if we do not be responsible and make conscious (aware) healthier choices for our children.

Please be so in love with them, that you recognize when you are wrong. Be so in love with them, that you teach them emotional regulation and safety. Be so in love with them that you show them the importance of developing a foundation and relationship with God. Be so in love with them, that you recognize your own harmful behaviors that dims their shine early on through distasteful treatment.

To my sons I apologize for treating you the way I didn’t want to be treated. I apologize for not holding myself accountable for my reactions. I apologize for the lack of preparation I brought into our life. I apologize for diminishing your shine when you were given to me fully polished. I apologize for the early years of chaos from making chaotic choices in life unconcerned of the consequences to follow. I apologize for not being intentional in my self work and dedication to my practices to severe the ties of my negative habits.

To the parents, I pray you understand my stance of truly loving our children the way it is proclaimed before and at birth.

- - - - - - - - -

May my reflections and words open the heart to healing and sincerity. May the exchanges flow in harmony between you and I. The love and support of my craft is appreciated by giving energetically, liking, or even subscribing to my work 💚

values
1

About the Creator

Azrie'l Johnson

Increasing my power through vulnerability to heal, shift perspectives, free myself, and allow my cherished "reputation" to dissolve

If my writing moves you in anyway, I am open to receive any exchanges through loving comments and or tips 💚

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.