Families logo

Pugh's Little Miracle

A Gift From God

By Cetrina BrentPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Hello, how are you doing? I hope this finds you all in a beautiful mood.

You know, the strangest thing happened to me today. And I would love to share it with you but, first, let me introduce myself to those of you who may not know me. My name is Pugh, yes Pugh! Weird; yes, a little even to me.

So, I went on an adventure. First, I researched my name. Even the meaning came offa bit odd. Pugh is a surname of Welsh (ap Huw means "son of Hugh" in Welsh.

) In the Irish origin, it refers to an international football goalkeeper or a former Laborer Welsh Assembly Government Minister of Culture, Welsh Language and Sport. You can find this on Wikipedia. Also, Pugh as an interjection means disgust, as an offensive odor. I begin to think, no wonder, I am messed up. You know they say your name tells your character. And probably a little bit of everything else. And soccer never has been a sport of my liking. Yes, you guessed it, I love, I mean absolutely love the outdoors and playing all sports types. But soccer never was one that I would choose to participate in. However, I love watching it. My cousin Sheryl loves soccer. She has been playing the sport since she was seven years old. Now, she would have been an excellent goalie. Me, even though I am surprisingly good in sports, I have two left feet. I trip and fall so much I should have been named Earth! Cause I always seem to be picking myself up and dusting it off me! I am an only child, but I have lots and lots of cousins. My mom works a lot, and my dad travels. So, he is hardly ever home.

One day my dad brought home this chest or black box. He told me that it was for me, but I could not open it yet. Boy, does patience work on ya. Every day I come home from school and stare at the box! I must remind myself not to touch it Cause my dad said, "Pugh, for you to get your box, you must be good, do your work around the house, get good grades, etc." I know it must be something wonderfully unique in it. "Hey," I yelled at my cousin Lynn. "I have a surprise." Then I began to show her the box; she was not the least excited. Well, the day has finally arrived where I can handle the package. I ran to it as fast as possible. My mom said to be careful. No one else seemed to be at all happy. When I got a chance to view the box, it had many words on it and tiny pictures. I never noticed those, all I had ever seen was just a black medium size box. I didn't know how to open it, and I turned it on its sides. I couldn't tell where it had to be lifted to open it up. But there was more; It was designed as a puzzle, challenging, I thought. I flipped and flipped, and finally, the box fell open. As the bottom opened, to my surprise, a small black book fell to the floor. I picked up the book but was so curious as to what else was in it. I was looking for something unique, but to my amazement, there was nothing else in the box at all. I placed the box back on the shelf where it had been for months, and I was waiting to open it. Then, suddenly, I leaped with joy! Cause I thought, oh, the surprise was not the box, but it had to be the book. I opened the book, and it was just that, a book. But the only difference in this book it had lots of instructions in it

I heard the doorbell rang, and it was my dad. I ran to him and squeezed tight He reached out for the attention of my hugs and kisses. I had become too big for him to grab me up in his arms and place me on his shoulders for a ride, which use to be a ritual for us when he returned. I could not wait to see what he had for me this time. But to my surprise, my father did not have anything. His gift this time was just his return home and the fact that he said he did not have to leave right back out. So, I began to question him, like, how are you? Where did you go this time? Who did you meet? What unique or new thing did you get into? Whoa, my dad said, slow down. We both took some deep breaths. I began to laugh; I laughed so hard and long till tears started to flow out of my eyes. They were tears of joy. Dad puts away his things and begins to unwind.

Then, out of the blue, he asked about the box. Then our conversation started all over again. I told him that I was amazed to see that the package had both writings and pictures on it And that I tried and tried to get it to come open, and that suddenly while I was turning it the bottom came loose and a book fell onto the floor. And the book had a lot of instructions and names in it, which I did not understand. My dad asked where I placed the small black book? He advised me to go and get it. I went into my room and searched through all the tablets I had on my book stand until I found it

I then ran through the house while being warned by my mom to slow down so I wouldn't fall or break anything. I passed the black book to my dad, and we started on a journey together, which was prompted by the little black book. The only thing we had to get was the box as well. The box and the book had codes, pictures, and words which fitted together. After my dad and I deciphered the little black text, writing down all it informed us to do. Going back and forth from the pictures to the book, the writing and the book, the photos to the papers on the box, etc., until we completed the entire book. But we had to do it as a team. And we also had to use both objects and our smarts, dad was impressed.

The new small book, which we made by following the instructions from the box and the book, took us on a journey together, which I have so often prayed for. My father left this time, which was about three months from him coming home, except for me leaving with him. Smiling, sure I was. Packed and ready to go. I just hated the fact that mom had to be left behind due to her job. She was a hard worker, and I felt that she could have used a break. And all three of us going on an adventure together would have been fantastic. I kissed her goodbye as well as my dad. But their kiss seemed to last forever. Mom put up a fuss about us taking care of ourselves and me being reasonable. Then off we went.

The instructions that we gathered from my black box's quest and the little black book took us to some far-off and remote places. I was scared when we first encountered the people and the places where we were to be staying. Never once did you hear me say living. I could not live there; I thought until I saw that the people were not mean, and they had kids there just like me. And a few that I met were facing similar challenges. We went to approximately five different countries. I met so many people and kids, but it was fun, exciting, challenging, and all-around appreciated. I realized my dad had taken me to some places where he had already been. In which I had asked could I go there, his reply was, maybe someday sweetheart

I know those were the places because I had to draw pictures and keep notes of everything. This was one of the required tasks, which we received from my little black book and the black box. We had one more stop to make; my dad nor I had ever visited. I couldn't wait. The excitement inside of me was so great until my whole face turned, I was blushed. Dad thought I was sick from the food I ate at breakfast. I had to reassure him that I was fine, he still took my temperature. And off and on, he questioned me to make sure I was alright. I asked him how much longer we would be on this flight, and to my amazement, the plane stopped back at our home airport. We caught a Lyft, which took us not home but to a place like I told you, even my day had never beenø When we had arrived at the location, my dad was given an envelope. He smiled at the FEDX carrier and passed the envelope to me. To my surprise, it had my name on it. I asked for permission from my dad to open it, and guess what? I jumped for joy! It had a cashier's check inside, worth $20,000. I had to turn over my documents, my pictures, writings, and notes about all the travels we had just completed. My thoughts were, God is good, yes indeed! He answered all my prayers in a short time but, it did not end there. The last instructions in the book said, now you do the same for someone else.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Cetrina Brent

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.