Families logo

Pregnancy

Birth mom

By Gracie CrusinberryPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
1
Pregnancy
Photo by insung yoon on Unsplash

Take the time to read this story if you will. You might wanna grab a cup of coffee; water; juice; breakfast; lunch; snack; whatever pleases you to read this long story.

Hi I'm Gracie. I live in Nebraska. I had a good life growing up. I get to travel around the world with my family to these amazing places. I had amazing friends growing up, some of whom I'm still friends with and some that I'm not friends with because, we don't keep in touch or hangout.

After high school I started to talk to this guy; we'll call him Chris because I don't wanna use his real name in this story but if you want me to please comment and I'll kindly tell you.

So Chris and I have been talking for a while and he was not that far from to be honest. He lived about an hour away and half almost away from me. Chris lives in Council Bluffs, Iowa and I lived in Lincoln. Gracie why couldn't he just visited you if he wasn't that far from you and meet for the first time? Doesn't he have a car Gracie or a job? Well yes, he did have a job and a car, I just don't know why he didn't wanna meet me when he had the chance after all these months you know.

He and I didn't meet til' 2017 of April a week before I went to NYC to visit my brother. As you can tell from the title of this story you basically get the idea and picture of what happened. I basically got pregnant at the age of 20, I graduated from high school when I was 19 years old because I was held back a grade because, of my disability.

I didn't tell my parents that I had sex with someone before the trip because, who the hell wants to know that shit! What parent would wanna know and have their only daughter say oh hey I'm pregnant after having sex with someone who I just met that I've been talking to for awhile because, he was afraid to meet me in person! No one wants to know that at all period!!!

So I kept it a secret just brush it off like nothing had happened. I didn't talk to him after it happened. I went to NYC and had a great time seeing him; then I went to Florida for a social media event for the first time going to this event called Playlist Live. I got to meet all of my friends who I met online that I've been talking to from the broadcasting app Younow.

Months passed and I started to notice my belly growing and to be fair with you I thought it was a tumor growing because, I have a tumor from my NF (neurofibromatosis) near my hip and soft tissue on my left wrist and on my left hip; none on my right side. I said hey mom my belly is getting big can we go to the doctor I think it might be a tumor.

We scheduled an appointment to see my physician. Then we scheduled another appointment that she had scheduled for me to see a doctor at the hospital. Thats when we found out I was pregnant and my mom called me down saying hey Gracie did you know you were pregnant and I said no bursting into tears because, I wasn't sure how she would react and wasn't sure if I would still be her little girl. She was disappointed at first but then accepted it. She said to me we're gonna get through this together and that I know someone who can be your OB, she was my OB and she is very good so I'll get that situated for you Grace.

My mom and I went shopping for prenatal and some other supplements for my pregnancy after I saw my doctor and shopping for maternity clothes too at the mall. I had to take B12, D3, iron deficiency and my prenatal. My pregnancy overall was good, no complications. I was due around Christmas and New Years.

Now what about the baby dad? Well, he cheated on me so it took while for me to contact him to let him know that he was the baby dad. I had to get a bunch of people to message him saying hey uh Gracie is pregnant and that you're the dad. My coworkers knew I was pregnant after I had told them and they were completely fine with it, they supported me. They let me stay at work and they even helped me out for some of the heavy stuff because I wasn't allow to do some heavy lifting but I kind of still did no matter what. My coworkers told me that I should take breaks during my pregnancy because, they didn't want me to get too worked up or too tired from standing up for so long. So I did; I took a break that day on September 23rd and thats when he contacted me.

We talked for a bit and then when my break was up he said hey do you wanna meet up? I said sure why not. It was good seeing him again but at the same time I was angry at him because he cheated on me, he asked me why I didn't talk to him all these months. I said I was scared to talk to you after what has just happened in April and that I was busy with work and that I was busy traveling.

He felt really bad for what had happened and got back together that day. My mom knew a place where I can do adoption and I was like okay.... Sounding disappointed because, I wanted to raise my own kid you know but my parents wouldn't help me raise it because they were getting old. After that I told Chris that I was giving the baby up for adoption and that I had no choice because my parents didn't want me to raise the kid and that my mom thought I was mentally unstable and ill and that she thought that I couldn't handle it; and that Chris didn't had a car or a job or his own place because, he was living with his grandma.

Chris was really mad at me for this when I told him that and basically said to me well I'm gonna stop the adoption once our kid is born. I went to a road trip in Nebraska City at the apple orchards with my youth group and I was still thinking of what he said to me. My ride to there was really nice to me going a normal speed because they didn't wanna hurt me if they went at a fast rate. I was really quiet at some point and walking very slow that day not knowing that the sun would make it hot on me when it was supposed to be cold. I eventually had a breakdown explaining of what had happened to a friend and that I didn't know what to do at that point.

So after that I chose a family in October for my kid and we eventually connected really fast after meeting with them. We became like a family because they were trying to have a kid. December came and it was pretty normal I guess, my mom told me that I should pack a bag just incase if we needed to go the hospital. I went to work and I was feeling pain. You would think that I would have weird things during my pregnancy such as morning sickness, weird food cravings, braxton hicks and my milk coming in. The only thing it was during my pregnancy was my milk coming in. No morning sickness, no weird food cravings and no braxton hicks. In the morning when I went to work I started to feel pain, now at this point I'm thinking ok it has to be Braxton hicks because its false contractions right!?

I told my mom hey um I'm feeling pain and she was like ok well call me if you need to go home. So I said ok, going to work like that was probably a bad idea, I felt pain all day and told my coworker I was feeling pain. She asked oh well how far apart is it and I said like 2-3 minutes at least and she was like ok well lets just see how it goes for today, if you need to go home thats ok Ron will know.

The pain wasn't going away at all, so I called my mom saying hey um I think Im gonna go home because I'm in pain and she was like can you get an Uber I said yeah. My coworker said I can give you a ride so that way you won't have to get an Uber and wait for them. My mom and I got lunch while this was happening because I wasn't sure if it was contractions or not you know. So my mom knocked on the door later on at night around 11 something at night because earlier she said ok well if we need to go the hospital we can and we'll go there whenever you feel like it.

So after she knocked on my door I said yeah I think we need to go the hospital. We got the bags that we both packed, drove to the hospital then we got checked in and see if I was in labor or not. Well, I was 3 cm dilated meaning yep I was going into labor that night. Man it was a whirlwind for me. No epidural for me, it was 14 hours of labor.

I see my kid every month and honestly my kid was the best thing that has ever happened to me. I left the baby dad last year in April after being with him for nearly 2 and half years because it was very toxic and it has effected me. If I were to have another kid I'm gonna name it the same name I gave to my first.

Thanks for reading my story

Yours truly,

Gracie

pregnancy
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.