Families logo

Powhatan's 12th Great Grand Son

And a BaldKnobber

By SynneR De'Viant KhrystianPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Powhatan's 12th Great Grand Son
Photo by Tanya Dusett on Unsplash

Throughout my childhood, my parents always told my older sister and me that we were special. Especially my mother. She told me her mother spoke tales of people asking if she had Jewish ancestry due to her dark eyes, dark hair, tan complexion, and the shape of her nose. After some digging through records and books they found out the truths behind the lore...

PLUS MORE!

As I'm sure many families told their children the same thing. Little did I know at the time, that being blue-eyed, blonde-haired, and passing for white.. afforded me numerous privileges I now know I would not have received if I hadn't lucked out genetically. I have always been a wild child. I wore my heart on my sleeves, maybe giving one too many chances to people who have hurt me. An empathic healer by nature. Animals tend to gravitate towards me, able to feel the safety my vibes provided.

As I aged my curiosity led me into a rabbit trail of family lore- That we are related to Pocahontas AND that my family helped create a positive vigilante group who took the law into their own hands in the tristate area. Now you might be thinking-- Well there has to be a lot of people related to her.. and also-- really... A crime-fighting vigilante group from Missouri??

The closest number to date is just over 100,000 people in relation to Matoaka. Out of...333,961,250. From the current population of The United States of America. The census bureau actually has a population clock if you'd like to check it out! It's pretty neat! But it would seem that it's just a drop in the bucket so to speak. A rarity.

Meanwhile in Missouri- Taney County.

They called themselves Baldknobbers. After the bare hilltops, they met on, able to survey the surrounding area in case of ambush. Their numbers peaked at around 900- led by militant-minded vigilantes that fought for the greater good. Our family members.

That's not to say that corruption didn't happen within-

I don't know the whole story but I am using this time inside from the pandemic to further my studies. The Baldknobbers were definitely shown in a negative light- often put to be the bad guys in novels, plays, movies but I know for a fact my family, 3 of the original 13 Baldknobbers, fought for the greater good of the community, protecting the citizens of the tri-state area when the local police did NOTHING.

Is this a joke? Maybe a bad write-up for a cheesy movie?

Nope.. It's my family. And the truth. I most likely will be writing more about the BaldKnobbers later after I finish getting the lineage put together with the evidence.

But when one finds the lineage, learning about hardships and happy times, scandals, vigilante leaders through the research it hits different.

Matoaka. Amonute. Nick-named Pocahontas which means "playful one" or "ill-behaved child" depending on whom you ask. The favorite daughter of Chief Peter Tucker, The Great Nansemond Indian Warrior Powhatan, the ruler of more than 30 Algonquian-speaking tribes in and around the area that early English invaders would claim to be Jamestown, Virginia. The father of Pocahontas is my 12th Great-Grandfather.

Pocahontas Amonute Matoaka The Great Nansemond Indian Warrior is my 11th great-grandaunt.

Suddenly my troubled childhood made a lot of sense. I feel myself to be a two-spirit in Native American terms. More commonly known today as transgender or Transman/masculine. Born with an innie but identifying as a male. But now properly embracing all of myself I identify as ME.

A spicy spirit with fire passed down by the generations before me, anchored in the greater good. determined to make a difference.

Call me SynneR.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

SynneR De'Viant Khrystian

An Aries trans-man with a plan including PAN. A Practicing eclectic witch and metaphysical researcher. A fighter for peace and understanding. A Cat Dad and Cannabis patient. A Healer and a Listener. A cosplayer and Galaxy Nerd. Hello! <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.