Families logo

Pears On The Runway

Finding Me

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Pears On The Runway
Photo by Flaunter on Unsplash

Dreaming “Under The Pear Tree”

From the time I was small I would run as fast as I could , out into the orchard. I always ran to my favourite pear tree. I even sketched my name Alma in it ,and a heart.

Laying in the orchard, looking up and chewing on a nice ripe pear, had my mind wandering about my life and what I was going to do when I grew up.

I dreamt of being a famous chef with lots of pear recipes for a bakery I would own one day. I even dreamt of sailing away in a boat shaped like a pear. Casting off to find my true love, marry and live happily ever after.

Those were the best memories of my life, only wishing I could disappear and go back in time.

There I stood, thin as thin, tired and ready to walk down the runway in a very bright peach gown. A model wasn’t on the list of things I had hoped to do, there I was making lots of money , but was I happy?

The Life Of A Model

Wear this, do that, travel here. To be honest I was not happy at all and if I didn’t return home soon, I was going to collapse with extreme exhaustion.

The benefits of my job was travelling around the world, the beautiful fashions I owned (not the ones on the runway). The joy of meeting amazing people from all around the world.

If only I lay under my “Pear Tree”, I would drift away to my magical place and search for a new destiny. Maybe rest up and do some deep soul searching. I knew this wasn’t my forever job, great pay cheque but not my forever after.

By Thomas Kelley on Unsplash

Fasten Your Seatbelts - The Plane Is Landing

Hearing those words, brought excitement to me, something I hadn’t felt in a very long time.

Standing at the airport was my mom and dad, it was so exciting. Although mom couldn’t wait to get me home and feed me. Mom said she would help me get my pearl shape figure back in no time. My mom always had a way with words.

After a wonderful roasted chicken dinner, whipped potatoes and lots of vegetables, I was stuffed. Yet my mom insisted on me eating her famous pear pie. “How could I say no?”

I fell fast asleep that night, I don’t think I have slept like that ever.

Off To The Pear Tree Orchard.

Searching for my favourite pear tree was like the book I had once, finding Waldo. It was so big, I kept walking and walking and, there it was. “Bigger than ever.”

Apparently my parents had a pear winery on the land, a bakery with several pear pastries. What really shocked me was my mom learned how to make her own skin care products out of pears.

It was so fascinating, the home I grew up in was now a palace and a large company. My parents worked really hard and with a gentlemen they hired, their dreams came true. Amazing and I am so proud of them.

Laying under my pear tree was relaxing until the pear picking machines started up. To think only ten years ago we went along and picked the pears by hand, now machines. So many advancements in life.

By Michèle Lippus on Unsplash

As I was about to stand up a very tall and dark man was concerned about me. Looking up at him was like I was looking at a dream come true. His kind words and the way he took my hand to help me up ,was magical.

Apparently Gus was the gentlemen’s name ,he was the young man my parents hired to help expand their company. What a very handsome and kind man, not only that he was single.

I was inspired and couldn’t wait to get to know him more.

After yet another wonderful sleep, large breakfast. I was ready to join the team working in the fields. I wanted to see everything myself. Right from the very start to the finish.

I knew I wasn’t going to learn everything in a day but the interest was there. I was so impressed with all of the employees, picking the good pears out verses the ones that could go to waste. The beautiful smiles from Gus was intriguing to. “It made me want to work harder”.

Dinner Time

My parents had hired a wonderful woman “Jasmine”, who cooked amazing meals and helped around the house. Dinner time around the table was fun and I was a little surprised to see Gus at the table.

It was routine for Gus to be there ,as he rented the back half of my parents home.

I learned a lot just sitting and listening to everyone, how wonderful it was to be with my family and Gus at the dinner table. Most of all learning about what I really wanted to do for the rest of my life.

“Being with my family and do my part from the ground up”, working hard but taking good care of myself.

Now as for Gus, I laid under my pear tree often. Gazing into the sky above the clouds. Dreaming about him and a future with him. At times I felt like he was right there, often times he was. Only reaching for my hand to help me up, and kiss me. My magical pear tree was helping make my dreams come true.

Sketched on my tree now is Alma + Gus Forever.

By Tyler Nix on Unsplash

Time, can change you in many a way.

It can help you grow and gain with every day.

Go to your magical place to relax and unwind.

Relax, enjoy and bring happiness to your mind

Love to hear from you.❤️

Email me at [email protected]

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.