Families logo

Parenting Through 10 Different Developmental Stages & Adapting Strategies as Children Grow

Parenting Through 10 Different Developmental Stages.

By OLUWAJANA ADEWALE JOHNSONPublished 6 months ago 3 min read


Parenting is a dynamic journey that evolves alongside the growth and development of our children. As they progress through different developmental stages, our role as parents adapts and requires us to adjust our strategies and approaches. In this blog post, we will explore ten different developmental stages and provide valuable insights and effective strategies for parenting through each stage, ensuring that we support our children's growth and well-being.

Stage 1: Infancy (0-12 months):

During this stage, focus on establishing a secure attachment with your child through nurturing and responsive caregiving. Provide a safe and stimulating environment, engage in frequent eye contact, and respond promptly to their needs, building a foundation of trust and love.

Stage 2: Toddlerhood (1-3 years):

Toddlerhood is marked by exploration and independence. Encourage their curiosity while setting clear and consistent boundaries. Practice patience and offer choices to foster their growing autonomy. Provide a safe space for them to explore and engage in age-appropriate activities.

Stage 3: Preschool (3-5 years):

In the preschool stage, children begin to develop language and social skills. Encourage their communication and problem-solving abilities through play and interactive experiences. Promote social interactions, sharing, and cooperation with peers, while also providing gentle guidance and redirection when needed.

Stage 4: Early Childhood (6-8 years):

During early childhood, children develop a greater sense of self and are eager to learn and explore. Support their growing independence by offering opportunities for decision-making and responsibility. Encourage their interests and provide a balance between structured activities and free play.

Stage 5: Middle Childhood (9-11 years):

In this stage, children become more self-aware and develop a stronger sense of identity. Foster their self-esteem and encourage their unique talents and passions. Maintain open lines of communication, actively listening and providing guidance as they navigate new social dynamics and challenges.

Stage 6: Pre-Adolescence (12-14 years):

Pre-adolescence is a period of significant physical and emotional changes. Support their emotional well-being by creating a safe space for them to express themselves. Encourage open and honest conversations about puberty, relationships, and self-image. Set clear boundaries while allowing them increasing independence and responsibility.

Stage 7: Early Adolescence (15-17 years):

During early adolescence, children undergo rapid emotional and cognitive changes. Foster their autonomy by involving them in decision-making processes and respecting their opinions. Guide them in making responsible choices, setting goals, and managing their time effectively.

Stage 8: Late Adolescence (18-21 years):

Late adolescence is a time of transition into adulthood. Encourage their pursuit of higher education, career exploration, and independent living skills. Support their decision-making processes while providing guidance and helping them develop resilience and self-reliance.

Stage 9: Early Adulthood (22-30 years):

As children enter early adulthood, they face new challenges in career, relationships, and personal development. Offer emotional support, encouragement, and guidance as they navigate these transitions. Respect their independence while maintaining a supportive role.

Stage 10: Parenthood (31+ years):

As your child becomes a parent, your role shifts to that of a mentor and grandparent. Offer guidance and support when requested, respecting their autonomy as they embark on their own parenting journey. Share your wisdom and experiences, while also recognizing their unique approach to parenting.

Stage 11: Emerging Adulthood (31-40 years):

During emerging adulthood, children continue to explore their identity and navigate significant life transitions. Support their pursuit of personal and professional goals while offering guidance and encouragement. Provide a listening ear and offer advice when needed, respecting their autonomy as they establish their own paths.

Stage 12: Empty Nest (40+ years):

As your children leave the nest, the dynamics of parenting undergo a significant shift. Embrace this stage as an opportunity to reconnect with your partner and focus on personal growth and new interests. Maintain open lines of communication with your adult children, offering support and guidance when requested, while also respecting their independence.


Parenting is an ever-evolving journey that spans through various developmental stages. By adapting our strategies and approaches to meet the unique needs of each stage, we can effectively nurture and support our children's growth and well-being. From infancy to emerging adulthood and beyond, our role as parents is to provide a loving, supportive environment while allowing our children the space to explore their own identities and make their own choices. Embrace the joys and challenges of each stage, fostering a strong and lasting bond with your children that will continue to evolve and flourish throughout their lives.


About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights


There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2023 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.