Families logo

Only He Knew

A strange book changes everything.

By Angela DerschaPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 9 min read
6
Ominous by nature.

It all began on a Friday evening, June 12th, 2020, to be exact. After a long, arduous day of celebrations, congratulations, and pictures, I finally said goodbye to my long-term prison sentence at Blackwoods Educational Academy. The premiere, exclusive boarding school for wayward adolescents. While four years is the standard term for an institution of academia, I felt like my term was a never-ending torment to my otherwise socially awkward and introverted self. My sole survival tactic remained the same: become invisible. Stay out of sight. Do not stand out. Head down, and voice soft. Although a tad on the lonely side, I persevered all by myself. No parents, friends, lovers, or enemies, just erased from the collective consciousness of the world so that I'm not of concern to anyone.

Alone, I sat on the edge of my bed adorned in my black/grey gown and cap that make up the school colors, stroking my long black hair, pondering what I should do now that I had no place to go or be. The door suddenly burst open. Behind it was two girls that I have tolerated during my time here at Blackwoods: Lisa Newsome and Natalie Cole. My now ex-roommates.

They have been BFFs since kindergarten, practically joined at the hips and brains, in my opinion. Both are eighteen, blonde with bright green eyes; and matching makeup. Their look consisted of silver eye shadow, black eyeliner and mascara, and a light pink 18-hour protection lipstick bought from a bourgeois mail order catalog with their parents' platinum credit cards. Lucky for them to get so much despite being completely insufferable. Giggling and joking commence among them as usual, but then something odd happens, they both turn to me as if to speak.

"Hey... um, Veronica Wren, right?" Natalie says, utterly unsure of my name.

I turn to her quickly and reply, "Yeah, what of it?" visibly annoyed.

She became uncomfortable but brought herself and Lisa over to my bed across from theirs and sat down next to me regardless.

"Oh cool, um, sorry if I got it wrong, we never talk or anything, and I only know that much about you because of the roommate assignment sheet we signed when we first got here. " She shifted around to get more comfortable on my single twin bed meant for one.

Lisa chimed in next. "We wanted to know what your plans are now that you graduated. We know you don't have any family or home waiting for you. " She was more cheery and to the point, which I respected to an extent.

"Lisa!" Natalie shouted, slapping her hand disapprovingly. "We're not supposed to talk about that!"

Annoyed and exhausted by their banter, I respond: "I have no idea, but it's none of either of your business," I said, getting off my bed and grabbing a fresh change of clothes from my Chester drawers. "Now, if you will excuse me, I need to change and check my mail. When I get back, I expect you two to be gone. Understand?" I threatened.

Lisa and Natalie stared at me in disdain.

I ran to the dorm bathroom and changed out of my graduation garb and into my comfortable jeans and purple long-sleeved purple top adorned with dragonflies. I splashed my face in the fancy marble sinks and dried off with the plush comfy towels used for bathing as I examined my now plain, dull pale face. There was not much to see, just an average woman with no distinguishing features except dark grey eyes and thin lips. I shoved my gown and cap into a trash can. Why not? I paid for it with my student work-study in the library after all. I walked towards the mail area at the end of our first floor, where the dorms were.

My box was empty, except for a package. It looked old and worn with the address for the school and my name written in elegant, faded cursive. The post-marked date was just last month, and there is no way it has been sitting there for that long, but it still looked almost decades old. There was no return address or sender on it, so I sat down on a bench across from the main entrance of the building and began tearing it open. Inside was a leather-bound little black notebook with a blank cover on it. I opened the book to the first page expecting to find it empty, only to find a small envelope accompanied by pages and pages of written words.

I opened the envelope, which had my name written on it. There was a piece of paper in it that read:

Dear Veronica,

I hope this letter, and notebook, find you well. Forgive me for sending the package so suddenly. Unfortunately, I had no choice. In response to my recently deceased employer's wishes, this letter and notebook needed to reach you on the day of your graduation. My late employer, Edward Thompson, was a generous benefactor to you and your stay at Blackwoods Educational Academy, as well as any supplies you have ever needed during the term of your education. For more information about this, please turn to page 16 of the book and follow the instructions.

Sincerely yours,

Eric Sandler- Attorney at Law with Thompson Enterprises.

Thompson Enterprises is an affluent law office in Illinois known for some of the most famous cases in recent years, so why contact me? I was beyond curious; I was obsessed with this information, so I went to the mentioned page and began reading:

For my dearest Veronica Wren,

The following items are gifts to you: one letter from my dear old friend Eric, a debit card containing the plentiful sum of $18,000,000, one black leather notebook that I wrote down my important financial information. I'm sure you have lots of questions and rest assured there will be answers, as long as you listen to my wishes very carefully. I am a meticulous person, after all. Go to the Grande Latte Café across from the campus on Saturday the 13th at 11 AM sharp. Order whatever you like and charge it to the enclosed card. Sit by the window and open this notebook to page 18.

Sincerely yours,

Edward Thompson- CEO of Thompson Enterprises.

I couldn't believe what I was reading! Why did I receive a debit card from the richest man in Illinois? Is he someone important to me? Did he owe my family a debt? Or is this just a cruel prank from those stupid girls who have everything and know I have nothing? Honestly, I didn't care. I had to know for sure. I quickly ran back to my room, carefully placing the contents of the package under my clothes in my Chester drawers, grabbed my toiletries, and went to the shower house on the second floor. After a long, hot shower, I wrapped myself in a white cotton robe and made my way back to the room.

The girls were long gone, except for a note saying, "Went to a party, you should join us!"

As if. I slipped on my pajamas and hung the robe to dry on my bedpost, then turned back my covers. Every night I thought about staying up to surf the internet for videos to keep me preoccupied but decided against it; I was very worn out. It was a long, tiresome day. Within an hour, I was drifting off into my ideal reality, one where I was not alone or forgotten by anyone. One in which I was happy and fulfilled: anything but my current state.

Saturday morning came very abruptly as my alarm went off for 8 AM, usually time for breakfast in the Dining Hall, but now just my morning routine of going out for breakfast at the Silver Dollar Diner down the road from the campus. I got dressed, set the alarm on my phone for 11 AM, grabbed my backpack, which I quickly stuffed my package into, placed the debit card in my phone case, and left. Before leaving the building, I did my morning hygiene routine of teeth brushing and hair fixing and then rushed to the diner. After sitting there for a few hours slowly enjoying my food and orange juice, I looked at the time, 10:30 AM. I Should probably get going by now; I do not want to be late for my mystery date.

Walking around in the sun became a habit of mine when I needed to be alone. It is peaceful and helps burn off some of my anxieties. Instead of directly going to the cafe, I went around the block a few times until the time read 10:55 AM. Better get there, I guess. The place was fancier than my usual taste, but it was gorgeous. The walls were regal and white, decorated with flowers and pictures of people drinking coffee beverages, contemporary black wooden tables with matching chairs, and lots of plant life to liven the area up.

I went to the counter, ordered a vanilla latte and took my assigned seat, and waited. It went off, 11 AM sharp. I retrieved the notebook and opened it to page 18, and began to read:

Good, you follow instructions very well; this pleases me. Now, onto business. Look under the table and then turn to page 19.

No name this time, but it was probably Edward. I looked under the table and found something strange, a heart carved into the underside with the words "Sarah Wren + Edward Thompson" inside it. Wait, what? Sarah Wren? She has the same last name as me! Excitedly I turn to the next page.

I have a confession to make. Veronica Wren, daughter of Sarah Wren, the love of my life, I'm your father. Your mother and I dated for years in college and even planned on marriage, but her family forbade us from doing so until I became a self-made man. We became pregnant with you during this time and were overjoyed! Your grandparents, however, were furious. They forced Sarah to withdraw and filed a restraining order against me, claiming I negatively influenced her. She, in her physically ill state, had no choice but to agree. She was very sick and knew she would only get worse and needed medical care only her parents could afford. I vowed to find her as soon as I became a man worthy of her love and her family's approval. Years passed, I graduated and became very wealthy because of my skills as a lawyer. I sought out my beloved to finally make her mine, but when I found her, she had passed away. Her health took a turn for the worst after your birth, and the Wrens placed you in foster care. I found you and put you up in the academy you just graduated from, discreetly. I was the only one who knew where you were, who you were, my beloved daughter.

With love,

Daddy.

I burst into tears. I wasn't an orphan after all. Edward was my dad, and Sarah was my mom. I had people who loved me, looked after my best interest, and never gave up hope that I would know the truth. I was not alone. And now, I'm free to do what I want, with no boundaries to hold me back. Thank you, Dad, Mom I will always love you.

parents
6

About the Creator

Angela Derscha

Twitter @angied7592. Long time lover of literature. Obsessed with adorable animals and coffee I spend my days playing video games with my brother and fiancee. I got a medium account too https://angeladerscha.medium.com/ check it out.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.