Families logo

On the way of...adoption

The beginning

By Corina G. PruteanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
4

I decided on the process on February 2017, after I returned from my holiday in Africa, where of course, I went to see Karim and my friends. I don't know how people usually do it, but for me, it wasn't a decision from one day to another, it was definitely something that grew in me for more than 1 year.

I remember being all by myself, crying and saying to myself "I am doing it!" and immediately getting in contact with my friend that was already in Uganda, also adopting. I needed info, how much would it be? what would my chances be considering I am single? Also, would she help me while I am gathering necessary funds? So many ideas were spinning in my head that I didn't even know what to start with.

I also decided not to tell anyone, not until the fostering papers are signed and the process is running, so for a couple of months I was all by myself in it.

The beginning was rough, as immediately after I decided on the adoption, Karim was resettled. That means he was considered 'independent' enough to be sent back home (he was 2 yo), to what was left of his biological family. A family that never visited Karim while he was at the kids home, nor did they wanted or afforded to take care of him. Unfortunately the only person who whould have loved him more than ever, passed away after delivering him. After spending his whole life at the orphanage, he found himself surrounded by strangers in very unnatural conditions, not only that, but also he wasn't with any of his relatives, but a neighbor.

I lost my mind when I found out. But this only made me want him to be my son, even more. With the help of my social assistant from back then and my friend's willingness, I managed to take him out of there and I started being his foster parent. He had to be taken to the hospital as he had malaria and a bad case of intestinal worms. He did get better. From here it seemed that things started to move on but oh, how I was wrong.

The social assistant I worked with, Sherry, was also the social assistant of the orphanage Karim was in, so I knew her personally. Not only that, but she was the one dealing with my friend's adoption so she had quite good recommendations. None the less, she is a disappointment. Even tho she started with the right foot, soon she used my trust and not only in her own benefit, asking for more money when she had the opportunity using my case in her own sick interest. I insisted for months for her to send me proof of the fostering papers she made, alongside with the probation officers signature, but she always demanded more money, time or said she has them and that she will send them.

Only at the end of November 2017, she finally sent me pictures of the fostering documents after I insisted for at least a month. This moment I saw that the papers were signed on the 21st of November... when they should have been signed in April/May. Considering that the law requires to have at least 1 year of fostering before starting the adoption process, she just spends 7-6 months of my time in her own gain, as I was hoping to start the adoption process in mid-2018. My plans didn't go accordingly so I had to adapt. In February 2018 I visited Karim again, but unfortunately, this time wasn't the time I'll stay with him, as I had to continue working so I can put more savings aside and to deal with the wrongs that had been done to us.

My plan is postponed for 2019.

adoption
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.