Families logo

Oh MOMMA

By: Dominique Gray

By Dominique GrayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Superwoman

Oh momma,

It was you who taught me how to be so great, it was you that helped me fix all my mistakes.I watched you come home every night with sore feet and an aching back. I watched you wake up every morning And still have breakfast made On the table. When dad passed, You stepped in and you took his place. That’s why I celebrate you on Mother’s Day and Father’s Day. There was a time when I got a little bit older and a little more growner and I wanted to date, when I experienced my first heartbreak; you let me cry on your shoulders. You told me “there will be a time when you get your heart broken, and it’s going to be OK!Because mama will always be here to wipe your tears away.” I prayed and prayed, harder and harder that you would never die on me. I need you around. I need you to be here when I have a child of my own, I need you to be here as my backbone. I want to witness the day I hear my daughter call you grandma. I want my daughter to experience the importance that you are in my life. The Beautiful songs you would sing to me, the way you would brush my hair until I fell asleep. You protected me, Even when I was wrong, then you would punish me as soon as we got home. (LOL) Not a day goes by that I don’t think about you. I reminisce on all my childhood memories, like that one time in elementary when the teacher said I was incompetent because I told her that her shoes were on the wrong feet, and I didn’t know what that meant at the time. But when I came home and told you what she said,You went out to the school and I watched you set her butt straight. Oh how I miss your crazy self.

Oh momma

I need you to know, There can never be another you. I need you to know that you are the reason why I am so great. All of the credit is due to you. You showed me how I can be the best mother for my child. Your sacrifices made you a beast. Nobody could get in your way and nobody can’t take anything away from you. I only could dream of growing up to be just like you. You are my hero, my very own superwoman with supernatural powers. You made me the person that I am today. Who knows where I would be, dead, in jail or just somebody’s baby mama… Mama I love you and nothing will ever change that.

Oh Momma

You shaped and you molded me into a beautiful black woman. You taught me to be the bigger and better person in every situation. You taught me to never give up or give in , made sure I stood my ground on what I believed in. Oh momma. Your the perfect example of a strong dedicated provider. Your a boss and no one can strip you of the title that you’ve earned. Deep down I know at one time that I didn’t deserve you. For all the trouble I caused in school, For the back talking and sassy remarks… you were too great for me while I was still learning. If it wasn’t for your discipline and concerns about my where abouts, I would probably be a savage.

Oh Momma,

There’s nothing greater then the feeling of being able to dedicate my accomplishments to you. Not everyone has a mother, or at least a mother who cares. I will never let you down.. not if my life is depending on it. Momma, you will be proud of what I’ve become, and all of my hard work. I love you boss lady!!

parents
Like

About the Creator

Dominique Gray

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.