Families logo

Now What

Husband, Kids, Career, Diabetes

By Lashonte BevelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Now What
Photo by rosario janza on Unsplash

You Know how you have so much going on in the world. Like Having kids who are between the age 15 to 8 years old then it hit you BOOM! YOU ARE PREGNANT! you are thinking to yourself what now I am starting over. Okay you and your husband are happy then around 5 months you tell him exactly what you knew all along you are having a girl. More good news but you then two months later get hit with an extremely high case of gestational diabetes. So, you are pricking your finger every day and keeping logs ok no big deal. January 5, 2020 the blessing comes your beautiful daughter is born. Everything is fine then here coming Covid-19 as it hits United States hard. But as every day passes when come to the hard changes of teaching the kids online at home grades 9th, 7th,5th,3rd and a baby who only takes the breast no bottle or pacifier at all imagine the juggle and struggle. Tragedy hit 7 days ago being Hospitalized with a 650 sugar which I could have sent meet in a coma. But before I knew I was a diabetic I was functioning everyday like nothing was wrong not knowing I was sick. But this one-day I just could not shake the feeling I was having. so now I have Diabetes. I was in shock being though I was a healthy person. I love fruit/vegetable smoothies, exercising everyday type person. But because I had two things against me my dad has diabetes genetic and me having gestational diabetes when I was pregnant well it was one of those bonds to happen things. But that is just the way the cookie crumbles, I guess. So, I am like now what. You Know how you have so much going on in the world. You explore life a little faster than others. Things like getting married and finally getting what you always dreamed about 4 kids later you meet the husband of your dreams. You guys date for about 2 years then he pops the question will you marry me. Super excited I said YES of course. But to my surprise the wedding was a stress but glad it was over it was beautiful. And now we have been married for 2 years and we have been together for about 4 years now. Fast forward to our current life Like Having kids between the age 15 to 8 years old and a stepson who is 10 then it hit you BOOM!!!!!! YOU ARE PREGNANT!!!!!! you are thinking to yourself what now I am starting over. At first it was a lot of arguments because of my stomach growing fast at 3 moths I had to stop working because it looks like I was having twins. But my husband was beyond stubborn so there was not much hope. We had are good days but we had many bad days my husband would start arguments for basically no reason. I spent many nights in tears because I was like how we go from a happy marriage to now a sad one. Okay you and your husband are ok happy that you are around 5 months you tell him exactly what you knew all along you are having a girl. More good news but you know two months later get hit with an extremely high case of gestational diabetes. So, you are pricking your finger every day and keeping logs ok no big deal. Then December hits and your stepson comes over to your house to give you the Flu. Which now you must be pregnant with gestational diabetes and the Flu great. So, you get better just to find out your husband has caught the same thing from taking care of you. After a couple of weeks all you have remaining is a horrendous cough. You are waiting patiently for the big day to come. January 5, 2020 the blessing comes your beautiful daughter is born. Everything is fine then here coming Covid-19 as it hits United States hard. So, we went from free air to now air can kill you. But as every day passes when come to the hard changes of teaching the kids online at home grades 9th, 7th,5th,3rd and a baby who only takes the breast no bottle or pacifier at all imagine the juggle and struggle. Tragedy hit 7 days ago being Hospitalized with a 650 sugar which could have sent meet in a coma. But before I knew I was a diabetic I was functioning everyday like nothing was wrong not knowing I was sick. But this one day I just could not shake the feeling I was having. so now I have Diabetes. I was in shock being though I was a healthy person. I love fruit/vegetable smoothies, exercising everyday type person. But because I had two things against me my dad has diabetes genetic and me having gestational diabetes when I was pregnant well it was one of those bound to happen things. But that is just the way the cookie crumbles, I guess. So, I am like now what.

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Lashonte Bevel

I am a children's book Author, Wife, Mother, Entrepreneur.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.