Families logo

Not Gonna Happen

Letters to the delusional

By Jasmine HarrisPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Not Gonna Happen
Photo by Aleksandr Kadykov on Unsplash

Dear Psycho,

Sorry to burst your bubble but no one cares how you feel. Guess what? The world does not revolve around you. You have successfully ruined relationships with 2 of your 4 children. You have treated us badly for the last time. Stop throwing yourself a pity party. You are a grown-ass adult. It is not my job to take care of you when you're sick. I don't see you helping me when I'm sick. And I have to get up and take care of a child.

You want to throw a fit and yell and scream at me and my sister because you're already in a bad mood. You are a pathetic excuse of a parent. You get mad over every little thing and then take it on us. Then you expect us to act like nothing is wrong. You expect us to cater to you. That's not how this works. You are going to be treated how you treat us. You wanna be mad because no one is making you soup.

You are alone in this fight. you are going to end up dying alone. No one wants to be around you anymore. We'd all rather move far away than deal with you. We're tired of your half-ass excuses. We're done with your "I'm your parent" attitude. Just because you're our parent doesn't mean you automatically get respect. We don't have to put up with your bullshit. Parent or not, if you want respect you have to give it. You seem to forget this concept.

There is no reason for us to speak to you anymore. There is no reason for any relationships with you to continue. You treat the people around you terribly and expect everyone to just get over it. Well, we're over it alright. We will no longer have a relationship with you. You will no longer bring down my mood. I have already decided to match energy with energy. What you put in is what you get out. You want to be an inconsiderate asshole, that's how I'm going to treat you. You want to act like a toddler, that's how I'll treat you.

Despite what you think, we don't actually need you in our lives. No one cares about your feelings. You've never cared about anyone else's feelings. It's your own fault this is happening. You only have yourself to blame. But we all know that you're going to try and blame everyone else. You are unable to take responsibility for your actions. It's really sad how you push everyone away.

We're done trying to be a part of your life. We're done acting like we care. You haven't given us a reason to care. You've only ever given us reasons to leave. You've only ever given us reasons to stop trying. Why should we be the ones who have to maintain this relationship? We don't care if you're family or not, we're done with your toxic behavior. You are not as important as you think you are. You never will be. You are not worth the time or energy.

Until you can own up to your mistakes then don't speak to me. Until you can admit that you are wrong, stay out of our lives. I refuse to let my child grow up the way I did. I will not let you have that influence over her. She deserves a better childhood than what I got. I will not let you damage her the way you damaged us. I will not allow you to leave those same marks and stains on her life. Being a part of her life is a privilege, not a right. And you have lost the privilege to be a part of her life. Maybe one day you will earn it back but I highly doubt that.

Goodbye Forever,

Zenobia

values
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.