Families logo

No hard feelings

Content

By Michael AnterioPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I usually write my submission in word then transfer them. I do this to perfect my writing. I know errors can be a pain, especially when you're deep into a piece of writing and suddenly the vibe shift because instead of reading; " and then he jumped over the moon in a instant", you read " and then he jumped over the moon in a instinct". Maybe poor choice of (ample), but maybe you got the point. Anyway I'm going to write it on the application because, why not... If I'm wrong you can correct me, but if everything fine how about leaving me a little something in the tips... Just kidding. I mean i really would appreciate it.. but I cant subject you to such a feat. So instead maybe I can ask you to keep a eye out for your boy. You see something of mines that grabs your attention, picture, title, summary, you have it. Just give it a little click. I would appreciate it so much. That being said I'll try to provide better content. I do not want to bore you if it can be helped...

I write often for fun and my style of writing is quite adaptable but my favorite is nontraditional story telling. It brings me joy because it's freeing! There is no rule to how long your story last or what can be in it. You can be writing about a prince then suddenly it turns into a frog.. Understand that is not normal... People in real life do not turn into frogs but that is what makes writing so freeing! I encourage anyone who is simply considering writing but do not know where to start, start there. I like to practice what I preach so allow me to bring you to higher heights with this next piece made to take you from one world to the next.

The Story

"I like breathing under water as much as the next human but these gills... these gills need to go"!

As a kid I was raised by my mom and dad. Two normal people, no abnormalities just a mom with beautiful average features and a dad with a receding hair line and a strong chin. I was as normal as normal gets. I played with friends outside, I enjoy my family time and during school breaks I travel with my family or friends to different places. NORMAL... Somehow with all that normal going on, I turned fifth-teen and was able to breath under water. I Honestly did not even notice. It started with showers... I would sit under the faucets and let the water fall over my head. Hours would go by before I would pick my head up. My mom started to question me about my love life, asking me if some little floozy had me depressed, while my dad would threaten to kill me if I kept running his water bill up. My mom was easy to handle because I usually would just tell her no, but my dad.. I honestly started to believe him about going to kill me because he start walking back and forth pass the bathroom with a spatula in his hand pointing it at me if i so much as looked at the bathroom. I considered just waiting till night to take my showers but one night, as I was walking down the hall I heard a creaking noise from behind. It was my father peeking through his bedroom door. I gave him a smile and quickly ran back to my room and called it a night. However that was just the beginning. I still had this urge to be under water, and it was getting stronger by the day. I had no choice but to find a new fix... I went from pool to amusement park to sitting in the rain once I ran out of money. Everyone just thought I was strange. They would point and say "look at that strange little boy over there sitting in the rain or OMG! Is he drowning"! I was under so long once that when I rose from the water the whole public pool had been vaccinated and closed. It was then that I know I had a problem but that was not even the worst of it. Shortly after two years in of this strange behavior my skin started to feel scaly in the inside of my ears... I started wearing headphones as a way to hide the change that was coming.. The change that ended my normal life forever.

Micheal Anterio

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.