Families logo

No choice in the matter!

Part 1: My Truth

By Tywonda PettyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

CHAPTER 1)

Born in SE DC, grew up in Foster-care.

Have you ever felt out of place, like you didn’t belong? Well I lived that life.

I went to Wheatley Elem, my foster mom Ms.Geraldine Jones was a kidegarden teacher so of course I attended her sch. I was teased, bullied and picked on all because I was different. I only had 2 real friends Carolynn Simms and keona Welch lol.. we was awesome together, 1 was smart the other was nuetral and me, I was the muscle. I had 2 bullies Keona Ross and this other chic with the same last name as me lol... (no relation). 1 was the school whore and the other thought she was that chic! But little did they know I was a fighter underneath all that quietness. I struggled a lot, not with people but with my own identity. I knew my situation but I didn’t accept it, it wasn’t what I wanted and it didn’t feel right.

I knew of my biological mom and dad but didn’t know them. Let’s rewind my mom was on drugs I the eldest was left in a hotel room with my 2 younger siblings at 6 and was fending for ourselves. My dad he was a hustler I remember he owened an ice cream truck back then. Yes I was a daddy’s girl. Long story short we were found by a house keeper and she did try to keep it under raps by bringing us food and checking in on us, but hey, she could only do but so much we were left alone for weeks at a time. So she eventually did what she felt was the right thing, which it was but it would take me 10 long years to figure it out.

Fast forward.... here I am 9 yrs old in elementary school. Didn’t fit in and was so lost and confused but I had to make my own way. Eventually I would stand up for myself and fight back but that too brought me to suspensions and eventually exspellsion from District of Columbia public schools. So I ended up at Bladensburg S.H where eventually I dropped out. I was 15 and full of anger and animosity. I blamed everyone. I treated my foster mom bad, I stole, I ran away, I caused major trouble. Until I met my 1st Love. Amari Caldwell he was everything to me. He was dark, smelled good, long hair and bow legged lol. He became my partner in crime. Everywhere he was I was not far behind. Of course that too was short lived.

Fast forward here I am 16, teenage mom, in a group home with no guidance or love. I had to figure everything out on my own. No child should have experienced what I did alone. But I did. No complaints, I just did what I had to do to survive. I was labeled a wild child but that was far from the truth! My attorney Mr. Christopher May could vouch for that.

I could have been adopted by my first foster parents the Johnsons but she (birth mom) challenged it. You wanna talk about heart broken here’s them details:

I was 8 when the state gave me back to her ‘ birth mom’ she lied and had the state believe the woman Netty was going to care for us but the whole time, this lady physically abused, mentally abused us. She ruined my first Christmas home by throwing all of our stuff in the trash!! I used to draw, I loved to draw had a passion for it. Her friend needed gifts for her kids so she wanted us to give one thing. I told her “Netty” that they can have all my things accept my art kit that was given to me. This Heffa gets mad, decides that it’s not what she wanted and threw out my siblings, her kids and my gifts in the trash! All because I said NO to my art kit. Smh... things went downhill then.

That’s another story but here we’re are fast forward. She beat me so bad with an extension cord that when I visited my old foster parents for the weekend after Christmas they noticed the bruising and cuts and their I was back in the system at 9 years old. Crushed, broken and a whole different kid. I went from stable to survival back to square 1 all over again. Damn right I was angry I figured everything was my fault. But back to the story.....

Chapter 2 up next!!!

immediate family
1

About the Creator

Tywonda Petty

33, single mom of 2, has her own, speak my mind not afraid of appropriate criticism. Always want to learn, achieve new things, not looking for sympathy I want my life story to be heard. I say what most will not and I Love speaking the Truth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.