Families logo

No-Bake Playdough Recipe

My favourite way to make playdough for my kidlets

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 8 months ago • 3 min read
4
Homemade Playdough

“Children are not things to be molded, but are people to be unfolded.”

– Jess Lair

I thought I’d give my hand another try at writing out a recipe! It’s been over a year and a half since I’ve attempted at recipe writing. Not really what I tend to write about on my Vocal account but since I just made a fresh batch of playdough for my kiddos today I thought I’d write it out!

The first ever recipe I wrote for Vocal was my family’s favourite surprise dip!

This one is a little different… because you can’t eat it!

I have very fond memories of my mom in the kitchen growing up cooking playdough on the stove for myself and my two brothers to play with. However, I hated the way cooking the cream of tartar smelt while it was being made so when my kids were old enough, I was bound and determined to find my own solution to the problem! I didn’t like her recipe so I found my own!

My kids love playdough.

And if you’re like me, buying it is just too darn expensive to justify once you have figured out how to make your own.

I have followed most no bake playdough recipes out there but this is my tried and true recipe that I discovered from…..

Here it is!

No-Bake Playdough Recipe

•2 cups of flour

•1/2 cup table salt

•1 cup of hot water (possibly a 1/2 cup more)

•2 tablespoon of cooking oil or baby oil

•2 tablespoons of cream of tartar

Optional

I always add these three things into my playdough I make at home.

•food coloring

•essential oils such as lavender (makes playing with playdough extremely calming for the little ones)

•glitter (can be messy but always fun)

Batch of homemade playdough after throughly mixing it while using this recipe!

Combine your dry ingredients into a bowl and mix thoroughly and start your kettle of water.

I add my food colouring in before I add water.

Next, add your oil of choice and if you choose, your essential oils. Make sure it’s safe to touch on the skin diluted as many cheap ones can cause sensitive skin to burn.

Then let your water in the kettle cool for a few minutes before measuring it out and adding it to your mixture.

This ensures you won’t burn your hands while mixing.

I just recently started using gloves to prevent my hands from turning colours.

This makes a Tupperware container full of playdough. Or you can separate it into plastic bags for easy storage in the fridge. This playdough lasts for up to 1-2 months if stored in the fridge. If you leave it out, it tends to get crumbly and hard to work with.

You can always section the dough and add the food coloring in after, the kind I use is more like a gel so I like adding it before I add my water but you can choose to add your colour after the water as well.

The main thing while making homemade playdough is to have fun with it! Experiment with the colours a little bit or different types of textures like glitter or beads!

Kids can even help with the measuring portions (I would just recommend not letting them help mix once the hot water is added).

My kids love playdough and it’s fun coming up with different colour combinations and scents for them to play with!

And the best part is…. No cream of tartar cooking smell!

Let me know what you think of this No-Bake Playdough recipe down below in the comments.

All credits for this recipe go to littlebinsforlittlehands.com make sure to check out her amazing blog!

Thank you for reading.

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

social mediafeaturechildren
4

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Not me still wanting to eat it, lol! The addition of lavender oil was just brilliant! Thank you so much for sharing this!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    My kids still like making playdough, and they are grown.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.