Families logo

Never Settle

My mother told me to never settle, and I never did.

By Jenna TomovichPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

"Never settle." My mother told me this so many times growing up, but I never realized how impactful those words were until now. Those two words were and are the most important lesson my mother ever taught me. From when I was little through my adulthood, never settling has gotten me to where I am today, thanks to my mom.

It started with sports. I was a pretty athletic kid. I tried soccer, basketball, tennis, cross country, karate, softball, and eventually volleyball. In elementary school, I was always one of the best at whichever sport I played due to my height and build, but things changed when I got to highschool. I was in the big leagues, trying to make it on the volleyball team. I had never played before, and I was up against girls who had been playing since the second grade. I knew I was bad, and I almost quit after the first day of try outs, but it was those two words, "never settle", that my mother had told me so many times that kept me going. I wasn't going to settle for being a quitter, and by some miracle, I made the freshman team. A year later I was on a travel team competing in Nationals. Had I settled and quit, I never would have became a varsity athlete.

Next came boys. When you're a highschool girl, the guy you like seems like the whole world. I, like most girls at that age, put up with some sh*ty guys and didn't always stand up for myself when I wasn't being treated right. Thankfully, my mother could see things I couldn't, and if she saw that I was being treated poorly, she would say, "never settle". She was right. Why settle at such a young age for a guy that didn't really care? She was my voice of reason when I wanted so badly to pretend things were ok, but were really toxic. If I had settled for one of those losers as a teenager, I wouldn't know how a real man treats a woman. I never settled with love, and today I am living happily with my fantastic boyfriend and our 6 month old puppy in our new apartment.

The most recent adventure in my adult life has been finding my career. I was always a go-getter in college, doing internship after internship, getting involved in clubs, and studying hard. Once I graduated, I was kind of lost. I was working part-time jobs that paid crap, not happy with what I was doing, and really regretting the major I selected in college. I thought I would never find a career I loved and paid enough to be on my own. Again, my mother said "never settle", and again, she was right. I had my doubts, but even when I was miserable working at a job I hated, I was applying to new jobs everyday. For months I sent out resume after resume and got shot down again and again. I never gave up though, I never settled. One day, I got an email from a company asking if I would like to interview. Within two weeks, they offered me a job paying more than twice what I was making at my previous company. I am now working in a position that I love, and wake up everyday excited to work. If I had settled for my old position, and didn't reach for the job I deserved, I wouldn't have found this amazing opportunity.

Sometimes I wanted to give up. Sometimes I wanted to quit. My mother always saw me as someone who would achieve big things. She saw when I wasn't where I should be, and let me know that I needed to keep working for what I deserved. My mother told me to "never settle", and I never did.

advice
1

About the Creator

Jenna Tomovich

Hey guys! My name is Jenna and I'm a twenty-something post-grad living in the DC area! I mostly write for fun and it's always been a hobby of mine. I hope you enjoy my stores and that they bring some excitement to your day!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.