Families logo

Nana's Chicken Noodle Soup

A Bowl of Comfort and Love

By Ines LozinaPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like

Title: Nana's Chicken Noodle Soup: A Bowl of Comfort and Love

The Story:

It was a chilly winter evening, and a thick blanket of snow covered the world outside. I sat by the window, gazing at the serene landscape, feeling a sense of loneliness and uncertainty that had settled deep within me. The day had been a series of unfortunate events – a rejected job application, a missed train, and a heated argument with a close friend. My heart felt heavy, and my soul craved warmth, not just from the biting cold outside but from within.

Just then, a knock on the door pulled me out of my reverie. I opened it to find my grandmother, Nana, standing there with a smile that could melt even the coldest of hearts. In her hands, she held a steaming bowl of her legendary chicken noodle soup. The aroma alone was enough to make my troubles momentarily fade away.

"Sweetheart," Nana said in her gentle, comforting voice, "I heard you had a tough day. I thought a bowl of my special chicken noodle soup might be just what you need."

Tears welled up in my eyes as I welcomed her inside. It wasn't just the soup that brought me comfort; it was the love and understanding that came with it. Nana had a way of knowing exactly what I needed, even before I did.

As I sipped the hot soup, its rich flavors filled my mouth, and a warm sensation spread through my body. It was like a hug from within, a reassuring embrace that everything would be alright. Nana sat with me, listening to my woes, offering words of wisdom and encouragement. In that moment, the world felt a little less daunting, and I realized the incredible power of love and a simple bowl of soup.

The Recipe:

Nana's Chicken Noodle Soup

Ingredients:

1 whole chicken (about 3-4 pounds)

8 cups of water

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

2 celery stalks, chopped

1 medium onion, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, minced

2 bay leaves

1 teaspoon dried thyme

1 teaspoon dried rosemary

1 teaspoon salt (adjust to taste)

1/2 teaspoon black pepper (adjust to taste)

8 oz wide egg noodles

Fresh parsley, chopped (for garnish)

Instructions:

In a large stockpot, place the whole chicken and cover it with 8 cups of water. Bring it to a boil, then reduce the heat to a simmer. Skim off any foam that rises to the surface.

Add the chopped carrots, celery, onion, minced garlic, bay leaves, thyme, rosemary, salt, and black pepper to the pot. Stir well and continue to simmer for about 1.5 to 2 hours, or until the chicken is cooked through and tender.

Remove the chicken from the pot and set it aside to cool slightly. Once cool enough to handle, shred the chicken meat into bite-sized pieces, discarding the skin and bones.

While the chicken is cooling, bring the soup back to a simmer and add the wide egg noodles. Cook according to the package instructions until the noodles are tender.

Return the shredded chicken to the pot and stir to combine. Taste and adjust the seasoning with more salt and pepper if needed.

Remove the bay leaves from the soup and discard them.

Serve the chicken noodle soup hot, garnished with fresh chopped parsley.

The Affirmation:

As you prepare and savor this bowl of Nana's Chicken Noodle Soup, may you feel the same warmth, love, and comfort that I did on that wintry evening. This soup is not just a blend of ingredients; it's a reminder that even in life's most challenging moments, there is solace to be found in the simplest of gestures.

As you take each spoonful, may it fill your heart with hope and your soul with strength. Know that you are loved and that there is always a comforting embrace awaiting you, whether in the form of a warm bowl of soup or the presence of a loved one. Life's storms may be fierce, but they cannot extinguish the light of love and resilience that burns within you.

So, my dear friend, let this soup be a reminder that you are never alone, that brighter days are ahead, and that every challenge you face is an opportunity for growth. Embrace the warmth, and let it nourish not just your body but your spirit as well. You are stronger than you know, and with each sip, may you find the courage to face whatever comes your way.

how tovaluesgrandparents
Like

About the Creator

Ines Lozina

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.