Families logo

Mystery Man In A Suit

Be Your Own Muse

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
17
Mystery Man In A Suit
Photo by Alin Luna on Unsplash

After sitting at my computer for hours on zoom calls, my body's bones started to get stiff like cement. I slowly got up from the table to move around, but every step became harder. At that moment, I promised myself to take more breaks and stand up every twenty minutes. My name is Frida Kahlo Davis, named after the famous painter Frida Kahlo. I'm a contributor to the lifestyle blog "Finding Your Light," my schedule can get hectic during the holidays. Companies tend to reach out to me for listicle articles such as "The top 5 Affordable Gifts This Year" or "Eight Ways to Deal with Your In-Laws During The Holiday Season." With the pandemic in full force, companies that I once worked with decided to cut their staff, including my freelance writer position. Over the past several months, I've had to make some sacrifices; I've found myself using candles as my primary source of light, eating noodles, and reading more books after getting rid of cable and streaming services. My stress levels have been too high, and I'm losing lots of sleep.

I decided that I need to get some fresh air. I currently reside in one of the busiest areas in Seattle, Washington. I'm within walking distance of bars, yoga studios, coffee shops, and restaurants. Saloon Café was the first coffee shop I found six months ago, and I've been here ever since. My condo is still under construction; I've been in Seattle for a while, and I haven't gotten the chance to decorate yet. My current place looks as if a typhoon hit. It lacks color and organization, so I decided to do my work in a different environment in the meantime. I'm from California, where it's tons of sunshine, crowded beaches, flip flops, and tank tops. When I decided to move to Seattle, the weather was the last thing I thought about; it's currently a snowstorm but, I don't allow a little snow to prevent me from going outside. I decided to work in a different environment for this cold winter day to find some creative inspiration.

As I headed out of the door, I quickly glanced at my wall clock to catch the time. It's 5 pm, and rush hour traffic was hot and heavy, especially during a snowstorm in February. I decided to walk along Maynard Ave to people-watch and get my blood flowing. For ten minutes straight, I power walked the whole strip. I decided to stop by my favorite café to drink my favorite coffee. As I walked in, I noticed that there wasn't a lot of chatter. There were three people in the café that day four including myself. Two college students studied for an exam, a businessman in a suit sipping coffee and looking at his phone and an old elderly couple sipping tea and still gazing into each other's eyes. I walked towards the counter and was greeted by Tanya, who worked there full-time.

She asked, "What are we having?"

I smiled and said, "Writers Block Swirl."

It was the best coffee in town. Imported from Nigeria, it is a cookies and cream flavor with a hint of mint. Regulars have called it a "cup of inspiration" the yelp reviews can attest to the taste. The coffee kisses your lips and slowly warms your chest down to your stomach. One cup is said to alleviate writer's block. That's what I needed to create content for this assignment due next week.

I quickly sat in my favorite seat to set up my portable desk. I had my laptop, charger, cell phone, pen, and notebook. I love sitting by the window. I worked best under natural light, and the snow reflected perfectly off of the building. I can work and also watch different people walk past in their oversized coats and snow boats. Tanya gently placed my small coffee down and mentioned that she added an extra swirl on top. We both exchanged a warm smile. I said, "Thank you." A couple of tables over, I started to study the man in the suit. I like to play a personal game of "guess the profession" he had shiny dress shoes, gold cufflinks, a briefcase, and a money clip. The first thing I thought of was a banker. Then after seeing him pull out files of paperwork, I quickly thought real estate agent. After going back and forth, I finally decided that he was a lawyer contacting his clients.

Once he pulled out his gold Montblanc pen to sign paperwork confirmed my observation. After that fun little game, I started on my self-care and new year's resolution article. I was in my writing zone for an hour; once I looked up, the lawyer was gone. His table only left a five-dollar tip, a half-eaten bagel, and a black notebook. I quickly got up, grabbed the book, and ran to the door, hoping he just left. The cold air hit my face like a cheap makeup brush grazing my skin. I looked left and looked right and didn't see him. I held on to the book and sat back down. My fingers were gently brushing over the leather cover. I looked closer and noticed that this was a Moleskine notebook from the Sukura limited edition collection. Those notebooks are worth a fortune. Only a select few have the Sukura. It was the perfect black leather imported from Italy; the notebook has soft pink pages and artwork of cherry blossoms.

It smelled like expensive leather. The corners were slightly bent, but it looked brand new. I quickly tossed the journal on the other side of my table and decided to finish my article. After editing, I glanced at the journal, contemplating if I should read what's inside. My moral compass wouldn't let me, but my curiosity couldn't control itself. I picked it up and quickly opened to the first page. The first page said, "Be your own muse." I stared at those words for ten minutes, analyzing and figuring out the true meaning. Flipping through the pages, all I can see were tons of color. A wide range of artwork from portraits to flowers. Art that should be in someone's house or art gallery after being in awe for an hour a page with just words and no artwork appeared.

The second page, which lists This book belongs to, didn't have a name. I looked closely and noticed that the letter was addressed to me, which read:

Dear Frida,

I was wondering how long it would take for you to grab the notebook and read it. I've been patiently waiting for you for some time, and I'm so glad this notebook has reached you. As you know, this notebook is a collector's item. I bought two of the Sukura notebooks: a collector's item and the other to use as a gift. My condolences to you and your family. I know your grandmother meant the world to you, and I'm sure she's looking down on you with a smile on her face. One of the things she whispered to you as she took her last breath was to "follow your dreams and to do whatever it takes to live your life to the fullest." What you didn't know is that I was also in that room with you, and I heard your grandmother's request as well. To jump-start your dreams, I've written you a $20,000 check. Travel, decorate your condo, start your own business. Put your grandmother's wish for you in motion.

Sincerely, The Guy in The Suit

I quickly looked around the café in paranoia, hoping the man would appear. I sat there in awe and whispered to myself, "Who is this man?" and "how does he know my grandmother?" My hands were shaking, so I gathered my things, left a tip for Tanya, and went home. My five-minute walk home felt like thirty minutes. I replayed that last moment with my grandmother repeatedly, and I couldn't recall a man being in the room. After finally reaching my condo, I made sure to lock the top and bottom lock. I called my mother immediately, detailing what occurred. After an hour, her conclusion was to "Consider it as a blessing. He may be your guardian angel." Deep down, I needed this money, but I felt uncomfortable cashing a check from a person I didn't know. I picked up the notebook and flipped to the last page, the check for $20,000 inside. The second place I looked was the memo; maybe the man in the suit put a specific reason down. The memo only said, "Follow your dreams." Time escaped me; it was now one in the morning I decided to continue this mystery.

The next day I arrived at the café fifteen minutes after they opened. I had no intention of doing any work at that time. I just wanted to sip my coffee and wait for the man in the suit to arrive. I sat down in my favorite spot before I ordered. I was looking out the window, hoping to spot him and ask about the notebook. Moments later, Tanya came to my table to give me my usual with a note attached. As I reached for my wallet to pay, Tanya said, "No need. Your coffee is paid for." I said, "By whom?" Tanya said, "I'm not quite sure. Some man in a suit." I sat there defeated and not sure if I would ever run into him again. "Did he attach the note as well?" Tanya smiled and nodded. "I wanted to read it, but I wanted to respect your privacy. You could have a secret admirer. Enjoy." I waited until Tanya left to read the note in peace. The note read:

Dear Frida,

I knew you would come back looking for me, and sadly yesterday was the first and last time you would ever see me again. I left for New York, but I wanted to let you know that the check is real and meant for you to have. Use this money to live out your grandmother's wish. Follow your dreams and live your best life and keep the notebook. I left an overabundance of life lessons and tips on how to navigate life. Don't worry about me; we should meet again.

Sincerely,

Your guardian angel aka the man in the suit

I sat at the table and held the note to my chest. Not only did I want to read what the man in the suit said, but I also wanted to feel what he said. This $20,000 would jump-start the life I've always dreamed of starting my blog, taking a trip to Jamaica, and finally enough money to decorate my new condo. I no longer viewed this moment as a mistake. Maybe my mother was right. Perhaps he is my guardian angel.

Click here to read more of my stories. I only profit off this website through reads and tips, so your curiosity is much appreciated.

If you are looking for a group of writers who supports, provides feedback, reads, like, and provide tips, then join Vocal Creators Saloon. A small community with tons of advice and writing prompts will help you through your writer's journey.

grandparents
17

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.