Families logo

My Simple Little Home

Inside of this poor little house, I'm rich all the same

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
By Rebecca. L. Ivey

My simple little home.

Within these four walls, an unpretending life story is told

There's a few cobwebs and the paint is crumbly and old

The windows all rattle and the doors will indeed make a squeak

This is where my heart lives, come inside and have a peek

The door is always open and the coffee is always hot

Dust off the cat hair and grab yourself a spot

I don't have much to offer, just coffee and tea

But I really want to show you what this old house means to me

It's only four basic walls surely not fit for a king

But from the kitchen window, I can hear the blissful birds sing

I planted each of these flowers one seed at a time

No matter what happens, this home will always be mine

I have a roof over my head

And our tummies have always surely been fed

That old dog in the yard is my very best friend

Together we have weathered every storm from beginning to end

A home is not about money or possessions at all

It's where someone will always catch you if ever you fall

Home is where you feel most happy with a smile on your face

My friend, can't you see that a home can be any old place

Now you may have a castle up high on a hill

But I choose to stay right here and I always will

This is where my children both merrily grew

There are so many precious memories if you only knew

The ceiling might leak when it's rainy outside

The wallpaper is all stained from the tears I have cried

Sometimes I sit on the porch late into the night

From here the stars are quite the magnificent sight

You might turn up your nose and say it's unfit

But it's toasty and warm once the furnace is lit

You may not approve because it has no silver or gold

But within these embrittle walls, a family's story is told

On that wall to the left is where my son once carved his name

The sooty fireplace over there is where Santa Claus magically came

The winter months here can be wretched, frosty, and cold

But ill stay right here until I'm aging, feeble and old

Once in a while, I spy a tiny stray mouse

He has made himself an entry right into the house

That little grey critter puts a huge smile on my face

As my big, lazy old cat playfully gives him a chase

The walls are all filled with images of before

It might be a bit tacky because there's no carpet on the floor

It is surely a bit dusty and needs a good scrub

But within these walls, there is so much happiness and love

So many meals were served on that blemished table over there

We all thankfully ate even with the burnt smoke in the air

To you, this old house may not be worth a dime

But no matter what happens she will always be mine

The fence that surrounds us is all rusty and frail

And sometimes we find that there's no water in the well

When it's snowing outside we all take to one room

Safe and warm beneath blankets we ride out the gloom

Echos of laughter haunt each room that you see

Surely you understand why this is the only place for me

You couldn't drag me away with ropes or with chains

Because within each of these walls, a piece of my soul remains

So live happily in your mansions with possessions of gold

But your home is where the heart is, if you've never been told

You'll never keep warm with money, fortune, or fame

Inside of this poor little house, I'm rich all the same

My simple little home

values

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rebecca Lynn IveyWritten by Rebecca Lynn Ivey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.