Families logo

My Road To Healing

Letting It Go

By Alan KimPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
My Road To Healing
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

There is a saying that "anger is punishing yourself for other people's mistakes." Many times we allow other people's mistakes affect us , by carrying the hurt that they cause within us. Especially when it's those that supposed to love us and care for us. Like our parents. Our parents are the ones that should love us the most, but often times hurt us the worse through their awful words they say to us.

This is my story and my journey to healing through forgiveness. Growing up I was not the smartest, fastest and best looking. I was picked on, laughed at and bullied by neighbors, teachers and by my own father. My father would constantly put me down and yell at me for not meeting his expectations as a son. My father would tell "your weak", "your stupid" and "you will always be a failure". As I got older a bitterness and resentment towards my father grew stronger and stronger. It got so strong that I hated my father and wanted him to die. The anger toward my father was so strong that I did not want to be around him. I waited and waited for my father to say "please forgive me for all I said", but it never happened.

In 2007 I had a battle with deep depression and tried to commit suicide 3 times, but failed. I would say to myself, "my dad is right I can't do anything right." I remember my first attempt, I was on the outside balcony of my parents house, ready to jump, when my parents saw me, they told me to get down. But I didn't, I told my parents that I thought nobody loved me and cared about me, particularly you dad. As I was ready to jump, a neighbor tried to grab me from behind, but I fell of the 20 feet to the concrete drive and still alive. As I laid there, I could hear my father cry and yelled, "my son, my only son." I realized that maybe now my father would apologize for what he did to me as a child and treat me like the real son that he never did while growing up.

Another attempt came when I was driving with my girlfriend (now my wife) and she was berating me and yelling at me. All of a sudden the pain of what my father said to me 30 earlier came back. So, I slowly took off my seat belt and slowly open the car door and tried to go out unto the busy highway, hoping I would get hit by a passing car. But, she grabbed my shirt and pulled me back into the car. Again, I thought now my girlfriend would treat me kinder and more gentle. Often times our parents words affect all of our relationships in our lives. Healing is essential.

What kept me going was God and my two closest friends. I read the bible daily and prayed for hope and strength to go on each day. My two best friends would call me constantly to see how I was doing and gave me encouragement to continue with life and I chose to live. My friends were vey important to me, as I knew they would help me heal and overcome my demons of anger and depression. Their encouragement and support went a long way to help me choose to continue with my life.

That summer I was with my father doing errands and he just asked me "how are you doing?" I started to cry in front of him. Then he asked "what is wrong?" So I told him for 35 years I held a grudge against him for all the horrible things he said to me as a child and how I waited for an apology. He then told how he didn't know how much he had hurt me. I then said to my father, "I forgive you for all the terrible words you have said. After this, I felt a heavy burden lift off of me and I was free from the pain of anger and bitterness. My father and I repaired our relationship. It was the beginning of a road of healing, restoration and intimacy for my father and I. As the years went on, our relationship grew stronger and closer to each other.

When my father passed away in 2012, I was glad that I restored my relationship with my dad, as my last words to him was, "thank you for being my father." Life is short, but regret is much longer. The lesson I learned through my father is that we all make mistakes and we need to be quick to forgive, because we don't want to live with the regret of not letting it go and not making things right with the ones you love. Go and make it right with the people you love. Nothing is more important than having a right relationship with the people you love. Let go of all your anger, bitterness and resentment. Forgiveness is for you to be free from the poison of the past.

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.