Families logo

My Reference Guide: Boss Mom

Old is Gold

By Tanushree JainPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Mom and daughter

There's no cuisine like food made by mom,

There's no counselor like the guidance given by mom,

There's no listener like the comfort by mom,

There's no relation like the one with mom,

There's no place like mom's home,

And there's no home without mom.

Is there anything or any way that can ever suffice to be thankful to them for bringing us into this world??? I believe no, and nothing of that level exists. Since childhood, we tend to cling on to our mom for everything. Furthermore, they have a magical touch of warmth and comfort. Consequently, they do have a magic wand that helps us find our things in a flick of seconds for which we had already spent hours and sometimes days in that matter. What is this knack? Until I became a mom, I thought, maybe taking care of others around mom is also her task, but now I blindly believe that we were her only task, and to look after our needs and take care of them was her only work. How strange are our moms! Having worked selflessly always asks us to take care of ourselves all the time. Even today, the first thing she asked was - Have you had your lunch/dinner? Same question to me and then the same question to my son as well!

Growing up in a joint family, I had relatives around throughout my childhood. I remember how gracefully my mom had taken care of everyone, not forgetting to mention my grandma as well, who was so active in her 70's. The mango marmalade that she used to make was my favorite. I once asked my grandma, how is it that even now you are so full of energy to make this much marmalade from scratch when we can get that from the market as well. Promptly she replied- ' It's all the happiness I get from seeing you all relish and enjoy it that keeps me going.' Wow, I felt that aroma around me right this moment. Aahhh. No doubt in this regard, I have cherished this joy myself. Ordinarily, sometimes when I am too tired to cook, and Mr. toddler is ready with his lunch or dinner order, that "Mom moment" has already overtaken the tiredness. There is something just so warm and homely about it.

My mom always encouraged me to utilize my time in the best way as which helps me to grow. Moreover, she always focussed on learning. She meant that whatever happens, knowledge and skills are something that will always be by your side. And stating this, she would feel bad because she didn't get this opportunity in her days. So, I want to say that, 'Mom, You did your best. Whatever we are, it's because of you.' Today, while writing this article, when I was collecting my thoughts, Mr. Toddler kept bumping into me every 15 minutes, and a lot of time, thoughts vanished into thin air. But, I made sure to write this piece as an ode to my mom. Whatever I write, it will always be short of words of how I feel. Indeed I will try to turn things around and make sure to grow and keep learning. Subsequently, I am still settling in the new country and utilizing my time to the best of my capacity. In addition, I am trying to be busy in my free time learning a new language, building the same hobby terms with my son, trying hands-on painting. Accordingly, I also plan to commit time to my passion for writing. I know the value of time, and to be exact, the value of the current time where I am a mom myself. And above all,

'Mom, I will try my best to make you happy and proud. There will be a series of things that I will always look back from the guide for my reference: Boss mom guide. Mom, your reference, might be old, at the end old is gold, Boss mom, in your way, you are the best and bold.'

parents
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.