Families logo

My New Neighbors;

Are Old…ish

By #KristinaWritesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Old...ish #KristinaWrites

So, as does most of society, we live in an apartment complex. And as with any apartment complex living, the neighbors change on a regular basis. Especially in this day and age where prices are going up so high not all families can continue to stay put. Well, the new neighbors that are moving across the hall from us are a very elderly couple. They have been living in this complex for over 15 years, from what I understand.

While I was kind of hoping I would get a younger set of neighbors so that we would have more things in common, I am not going to throw out the window the fact that this older couple is moving in. The woman is very kind, the man is…not so much. But that is neither here nor there. While they are the ones that are moving, why then am I the one that wants to make sure I am ready? It really makes no sense to anyone but me, I am almost sure of that.

I have started Googling different issues that older people experience. That way if they need any assistance, I can help. Only if they ask me though; I am not going to throw myself at them. One of the main things that came up when I was researching issues with the elderly was dementia. This struck a chord with me because I have an aunt up north that is battling dementia right now. While I am not face-to-face familiar with what she is going through, my cousin tends to post on social media to update the family.

From all of my readings, I have narrowed down some of the common symptoms that actually begin in the early stages of dementia. I think I am not the only person that needs to know this stuff. That is the main reason why I am putting this blog together. There is nothing wrong with educating others.

Memory loss is the most common detail associated with dementia. It may range from the immediate forgetfulness of a basic conversation to forgetting the details of a specific day or time period.

Making future plans or focusing on specific details within those plans are also warning signs to be aware of. They may be planning an event and specific details completely leave your mind, and they are not even aware of it.

Basic daily tasks can generally be forgotten and make it entirely more difficult to have a successful work or home life. This can involve things like driving or how to complete a basic task that is generally completed on a regular basis.

General confusion or disorientation when they are in a, once upon a time, familiar atmosphere. It tends to become even more confusing when the individual forgets how they got to that specific location. This can very easily entail the general confusion about what year it is or what season it is.

When more generalized tasks are affected; such as writing or speaking, then it is time to realize that the condition has progressed much further than originally suspected. This is much more advanced than just a generalized individual forgetting a certain detail.

Poor judgment patterns were also a huge issue that was touched on everywhere I researched. It appears that the general negative innovations take hold in an individual’s mind when dementia sets in. This poor judgment can affect finances, relationships, and anything that is personal to that person.

Now, none of these traits are saying that someone is definitely suffering from it. However, they are red flags and should be attended to. I have made somewhat of a relationship with the older woman that is moving in across the hall. Because of this, I will definitely be monitoring our conversations a little bit closer. This is especially true given her age. Above all else, I am excited to have a neighbor, regardless of her age.

Until next time.

#KristinaWrites

Remember: If you like what you read; feel free to subscribe & leave a tip :)

humanity
Like

About the Creator

#KristinaWrites

I love life & everyone in it! I have realized what I really want to do with my life; Write!

So, I'm an Ghost Blogger, Content Writer & Generalized Creator based in Texas and I write about...Life!

Follow Me: Facebook

Website: KristinaWrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.