Families logo

My journey of being a single mom

The struggles, and the reward

By Emily M. Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Becoming a parent should be one of the most important and awesome things out there.

Everyone loves babies, and loves seeing kids be kids. I use to always sit there in “aw” when i would see babies or little kids thinking they are so sweet and cute and how i would love to have one. But actually having one in a situation where its just me taking care of the baby 24/7 is definitely difficult.

Although i did have my mom by my side to help out thankfully as having a 9 pound baby was rough. I always had the support from my mom and my brother and help for a while but my social life was gone, my friends didn’t have kids so they never understood why i needed to go home early, or why i didn’t want to go out to a restaurant, or why i basically disappeared for months after having him. I lost some friends but also gained some who actually had kids and understood the life of having kids so that was helpful.

The moment i found out i was pregnant i was terrified, this was not the way i had envisioned my life or the timing of having a kid. I remember telling my brother first and his friend, im pretty sure they were both shocked and not sure how my mom would take it. Surprisingly she wasn’t mad, she said congratulations in the most nicest but concerned way possible. My dad was against it. He didn’t want me to have the baby more so i think because i wasn’t married, i wasn’t fully on my own yet and because the father wasn’t in the picture and it would be just on me. But i decided i was going to have this baby and make the most of it.

It changed all of our lives, i became more broke, i wasn’t able to just go get a full time job somewhere because daycare is outrageously expensive. So im still here 3 years later trying to make a living with doing something but it has to be from home.

So to always see those parents with their happy, smiling babies out everywhere i never knew their backstory. Im sure it might have been somewhat easier by having both parents but then again maybe not. They say there’s never a good time to have a baby and i can understand that but things happen and i really think you gotta make the best out of it. That kid looks up to you to take care of them. When i got out of my selfish “I just want to hang out with friends and do mindless things and drive around and not have to change my lifestyle because of my son” stage i realized i have the most important job out there of being a parent, being an awesome mom, and making a difference for both me and my son. Thats when it really clicked in that hanging out with friends really didn’t matter and if they were the right kind of friends then they would understand and stick around and if not then i would make better ones.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Emily M.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.