Families logo

My Husband

My Best Friend

By Shante HernandezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Love Of My Life

What can I say about my husband? He is one of my best friends. I don't know what I would do without him. I remember the first time we officially met. It was November of 2009, I was talking to some of my friends before we went to class. And then my friend Cody said,"Hey Shante, Colorado is looking at you." I turned around and saw this tall guy with curly hair walking all smooth towards me. I kinda cringe at him and then asked my friends,"Who is that guy?" "All I know is his brother is named Caleb and that he is in Cross Country. Since his brother's name starts with a C, maybe his name starts with a C also." So my friends and I start blurting out names. "Carlos!" shouted Cody. "Chuck!" I shouted after Cody. Then Joe decided to be funny and shout out, "Roberto!" Cody and I laughed and shook our heads. Then I turned around, and there he was staring into my eyes. He put out his hand and said, "Hi, my name is Charles." I turned back to my friends, and we just shook ours heads and said,"Not even close." Fast forward to senior year in high school. We became REALLY close friends. He would greet me with a hug every morning. As a gentleman, he would be 5 minutes late to every class just so he could walk me to my classes. We liked each other very much. But we went different ways. We dated different people who were not a very good match for us. Then it happened, July 28th, 2011, we started dating. Our journey of dating had ups and downs. We broke up and got back together so many times. And then we decided work together to help our love get strong again. When our love started to get strong again, he surprised me and proposed to me. It was our last day in June 2015 at our home church, and as we were saying goodbye to our friends and family. He took my hand and said,"Honey, I didn't think that our love journey would come to this. I love you so much. And I don't wanna live another day without you in my life." That is when he took my hand, got down and one knee and said,"Shante Briana Johnson, will you do the honor and be my wife?" All I could do is cry and cry. I finally shook my head and said,"YES!!" Now it is our wedding day, 3 months later. Our families are sitting outside waiting for me to walk down the aisle. My dad took my hand and walked me down to my soon to be husband. As we said our vows, all I wanted to do was kiss him and go on our honeymoon. When they finally announced us husband and wife, we thanked everyone and we went on our honeymoon. Then a week or two after our honeymoon, we found out we were expecting.(Little did I know I was 2 1/2 months pregnant with our son Joseph). April, 2016, our son was born into the world. My husband really helped me through everything with our son. Then we had our daughter in August, 2017. I don't know what I'd be doing if it was just my kids and I. My husband has been there for me for everything. My happiness, sadness, and anything you can name. I have to say, I have the best husband in the world. I love you Charles Hernandez! Thank you for being an awesome husband and an amazing father to Joseph and Isabella. We love you!

married
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.