Families logo

My Hero's

My Inspirations

By VANESSA MARTINEZPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Mom, dad, Alphonso, and Anthony

There are a handful of people that have impacted my life and have changed it in one way or another. These people are the ones that have influenced me to do better and to be better. They have brought me up when I was down, made me believe in myself when I no longer believed that I belonged, they have and had been there for me when no one else thought I was anything to be there for. I want to thank these people and let them know how much of a difference they have made in life even if they have no idea they ever even did.

Dear mom,

You had always been there for me since the moment I entered this world. You were the first to hold me and one of the only people to ever tell me to stop being dumb and have a little faith in myself. You always knew when something was wrong with me, when something had gone wrong at school or when I was just simply trying to hide anything from the world. You knew when I was at my lowest and helped me believe that not everyone in this world is out to get me. I thank you for the hard truths and the big shoves you gave. Even though you are no longer with me, I know you can hear these words and know how much you mean to me. I will always love you.

Your daughter, Vanessa

Dear dad,

You have always played a great big role in my life not only as a father but, as someone, I could learn from. Either by your words or by mistakes you made and overcome on your own. You always believed that if I put my mind to it, I could be anything and do everything I wanted. You not only allowed me to make my own mistakes, but you helped correct them with your guidance. You taught me how to stand up for myself and how to hold strong to what I believed in. You made me feel safe when things were uncertain for me and for all this, I thank you. You and mom have always been heroes in my eyes and in my heart. You both did so much to bring yourselves up from the bottom for not only you both but for my sisters and me. Thank you for always being there when I have needed you most.

Love always, your daughter, Vanessa

My dearest son’s, Alphonso and Anthony,

To my firstborn, my son, Alphonso, you are one of my many joys in life. One of my few reasons for living. I know that you may not have much belief in yourself and have struggled in life with anxiety and depression, but you are one of the strongest and most talented young men that I have ever known. You have faced many challenges in life but have always come out of them with your head held high. The times that I have felt down and alone and have struggled with my own insecurities you have always been there for me, even if those times did not hold many words your mere presence has always lifted me. You and your brother have always been my true hero's. My son Anthony, just like your brother, you are my other reason for living. Even though you are still young, you are extremely brave and strong. The many times I have had some of the most horrible times in my life you have been there for me with your wise words of wisdom. For someone still young you are so very intelligent beyond your own years. I am so very lucky to have you both in my life and would not ever dream of a different life. I may not have had money to buy you both the best things in life when you were growing up, but you both never made me feel bad about it. I hope that we never miss a minute together as you both continue to grow into the best men possible.

Love you both always,

Your mom

There have been so many people in my life that have played important roles but my mom, dad, and two sons have always been the most important and influential people. I know like everyone else in the world, I will continue to face many challenges, but I will always know that these people, my heroes, are the ones that I can always turn to for guidance and help.

immediate family
1

About the Creator

VANESSA MARTINEZ

I am a single and disabled mom of two awesome young men and an amazing Chihuahua, Pebbles. I love and enjoy writing and am currently in the process of writing a book. I hope that one day I will be able to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.