Families logo

My First Airplane Ride

True Story

By Mariann CarrollPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
My First Airplane Ride
Photo by Daniel Tong on Unsplash

My first airplane ride, I remember it like it was yesterday. I was five years old. My mother prepared me ahead of time for it. I was a scary cat at everything new.

“My mother and father are coming to visit . That’s your grandma and grandpa. They will take you on a plane to visit my country.”

My mother was pregnant with my youngest brother. She was having a difficult pregnancy. She was always in the hospital.

My grandparent arrived at our house . They just had a trip in San Francisco. My grandparents was in their late fifty’s. This was going to be their first trip taking two little kids on a 18 hour airplane ride to Asia. My grandparents are Asian on my mother’s side.

******

The day of the plane ride my step dad and pregnant mom drove us to our airport. We have a very small airport in our city. My parents could wait for the plane with us at the gate at that time.

I did not want to go, I was crying. My mom was my best friend. They always used my little brother to get me to go or do anything. My brother was two and half back then. He was not afraid of anything. He had his milk bottle in his mouth. It was in the middle of winter in upstate New York. We were all wearing heavy winter coats as we board the plane. My grandpa was caring my brother and my grandma was holding my hand as we enter the plane.

I was curious at first cause back then the stewardesses greet kids with a pilot pin and a paper luggage book for entertainment for children.

My grandparents put me near the window seat . I shut the window shade.

I did not want to see the outside of the plane while flying. My grandparents asked why I did that. I give them a mad look and folded my arms on my chest. I was mad at them for taking me away with my brother from my mommy. I made up my mind I was not going to like it even if it was an experience of a life time.

The Flight attendants started to explain the flight safety rountin. The pilot welcome the passagers on Pan am airlines and announced we were going to Japan(our stop over flight). He asked the passagers to put on our seatbelts.

The stewardesses went around to make sure everyone had their seatbelts on. My grandma asked me to open the window shade. My grandpa was not too happy that I had it closed. My grandpa had that look, I was going to be a difficult child. My grandma was a sweet lady. My grandpa was very stern and strict with me.

We finally made it to the air. I did open the shade for a little bit. I was looking for God and the angels in the clouds . I was told God was in heaven by my parents. I was in heaven but I did not see God. A child little mind thinking I had back then. My grandma help me open up the luggage book the flight attendant provided to each children on the plane. I used the crayons that came with it to color the different country pictures and the panda bear which was kind of Pan Am airline mascot. There were children puzzle and a story being told by a Panda bear in it.

The food arrived and it smell good cause I was very hungry. There was a choice between chicken or beef. I had the chicken meal with orange juice. My grandma helped me with my meal and my grandpa help my little brother. My grandma went with me to the bathroom. My brother was still in diapers. The bathroom was very small so my grandma told me she will wait outside the bathroom for me. We took turns.

I watched the stewardess working while I waited for my grandmother. They were busy clearing the push cart of food in their area which was near the bathroom . Did you know the flushing water in the bathroom on the plane was dark blue. I wonder if the sink water was going to be blue as well. It was not. My grandma was done and we walk toward our seats.

The stewardess made the announcement of a movie was going to start and the lights were going to be turn off. I was still looking out the window. The clouds looked like white cotton candy to me. I was wondering how the clouds felt liked. I was wondering can you walk on them. I did not have a scientific mind back then. Where was the Castle in the clouds that I saw in my children’s book at home? I was waiting to see something to happen in the clouds but nothing.

My grandma told me to shut the window shade as the movie was about to start. I cannot remember what movie that was playing on the front screen of the plane. I was to tired and fell asleep. I woke up, my ears felt stuff, like a vacuum. I told my grandma and she give me chewing gum and my ears seem to pop and I can hear better. I had a blue airplane blanket on me when I woke up and a little pillow that was perfect for my size.

My little brother does not seem to have that problem cause he always had his bottle in his mouth or a pacifier. He was happy being held by my grandma or grandpa in their laps. He always smile looking at me and tried to reached for me. He have a cute way of calling me . “Tister”(sister). Looking at my little brother give me comfort in being in an unfamiliar place. The stewardess find him very cute. They would stop and do a little baby chat with my little brother. He would smile at them while still having the pacifier in his mouth. Don’t asked how.

We had a few airplane meals and a movie before we landed at our destination.

This is my first airplane flight experience.Thank you for reading ❤️☁️🌤✈️

grandparents

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    The first flight is always memorable. But at five, what a memory you have, i don't remember anything at five years old.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Sweet flight memories!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • Oh, I love this story❤️😉

  • Fantastic Story 😊❤️

  • On stop Tech-Newsabout a year ago

    Nice

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I loved the part about looking for the God and the angels. Thank you for sharing this memory

  • Awww, this was so wonderful! The way your brother called you Tister is so adorable! Also, it's so impressive that you remember this experience from when you were only 5 in such details. I enjoyed reading this!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Loved this, Mariann! Thank you for sharing :)

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    What a wonderful and heartwarming story. Thank you for sharing Mariann.

  • Thank you for sharing this, Mariann. A good memory, I hope.

Mariann CarrollWritten by Mariann Carroll

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.