Families logo

My father created a tribe.

Growing up in a large family.

By Irene MielkePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
My parents and my sisters were at my sister's graduation.

Daddy, I don't know how you did it blind and raising thirteen of us. I know we didn't make your life all that easy at times, and I know you hate showing your pain and struggle to people. I know you've made a lot of sacrifices for us -- your children.

I remember being a little girl, you had us at church EVERY SUNDAY and always made sure we were there early and at both services -- I remember: you always made us all sit in the second row of pews, period. I remember we missed not one church service. I know I've made bad decisions, and I didn't turn out to be the little girl you raised.

We don't remember you reading us Cinderella, always biblical stories. I guess you knew as we grew up that we'd face trials and tribulations.

Our whole lifestyle was that of a strict Christian upbringing. I know you tried your best to raise very Christian children who carried it into adulthood and lived a lifestyle of morality, hoping we'd grow up and understand our purpose in this world.

I know some of us aren't Christian, and some have strayed so far from the way you raised us, and I know it's caused you much disappointment over the years. I'm proud of you, daddy, because you've done your best.

I know we've been through so much as a family, and it's taken us years to understand our mom's upbringing in the '60s scoop movement.

I know you just wanted to give our mom the fairy-tale she wanted.

You're a selfless man and person, a selfless father to us, a selfless husband to our mother, and not everyone understands why you act so challenging at times -- even though you're the most sensitive. I think I got that characteristic from you.

I'm your child, and I understand that everything you did was because you have a big heart. You chose a path nobody else would go out of love, and honestly, ignore the opinions of society, dad! I think I have the same heart, and I know how it feels when people take it for granted and deceive others.

I couldn't even imagine a different life as your daughter, even though the one you gave us is abnormal in today's society. Still, it taught me so much about being a loving and compassionate person, although many love to judge without knowing anybody nowadays.

They judge the outside, not even trying to know what's on the inside of somebody.

Having you as a father who couldn't see at all taught me to never look at the outside of somebody. It taught the inner heart of others is what matters.

Going to school telling people I had twelve siblings had to be one of the most horrible experiences I had growing up because people were mean, and I remember I often got bullied! Yes, we got bullied a lot because our family was so different. Today, the elementary school children have a day they all honor to spread awareness of bullying, and it's called #PinkShirtDay!

Now that I've grown up into an adult, I realize there is no gift like family. Family is the greatest gift in life we are given.

Without all my siblings, I could not have the support that most lack to help me with my children, also known as your grandchildren.

I'm closer today to my siblings because we had to learn to live with so many separate personalities and children growing up. It is frustrating because so many of us, as adults now, I think we genuinely start to miss being children.

We've all gone our separate ways.

Now you're a grandfather to like so many grandchildren, and I hope me and my siblings can teach our kids the same importance of family you taught us and instill the same values you've always instilled into us.

Dad, you always put your family before anything, even though you had a 9/5 job that you worked every day and so many other things.

I'm strong today, not because of myself, but because of my parents, who were firm before me. You did everything you had to to make sure to keep a roof over our heads.

There were tough times and times I hated you, times I didn't even speak to you, but I had to become a mom myself to understand the self-sacrifices you made for us, and I forgive you for the past. You always had the right intentions behind you. I forgive you for the times you feel guilty you couldn't protect us from -- so forgive yourself now.

I still see your pain when you lecture me on always being there for my kids first and never putting anything before them, not even a career.

In this society, it's hard because so many people put their kids truly last because they care more about their image in society than about their kids. Still, you taught me how to be a good mother, or at least the best mother I can be, through your honesty and imperfections.

You're my daddy, and I only get one father in this life. I hope to have as much unconditional love for my future husband as you always had for my mom.

I know you're disappointed in me for never getting married before having children, but I'm imperfect. One of your kids had to screw up miserably - I guess it had to be me; every day, I look at my siblings and their happiness, and I'm happy for them.

I would rather I will be the one that screwed up than my siblings because I'm the kid of yours who is outspoken but soft-hearted.

I KNOW THEY'LL LISTEN TO ME AND WANT BETTER when I can share my pain with my siblings from my poor choices. You're an over-protective father, and I've learned to be an over-protective big sister because I want my younger siblings to make you proud of them.

I'm sorry for all the times I let you down as a daughter and all the pain I once caused you. I didn't understand, but now I do! I hope one day I live the life, you, as my father, always knew I deserved.

I know you're only hard on me because I'm just like you, and you see that, and you don't want anyone to take advantage of me, because, since you're my father, you're the one who knows what all your daughters deserve in a man.

Happy fathers day!!!!!!

Yours Truly,

Your Daughter :).

parents
Like

About the Creator

Irene Mielke

Hi,

I am Irene. I am an aspiring blogger and writer looking to influence the next generation towards their dreams. I want the rest to know that age is just a #, and you're never too old to begin a new dream from scratch.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.