Families logo

My Experience with IC

Incompetent Cervix and Me

By SammyRainaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

Here's a story of my experience with IC. If you don't know what IC, well its a medical issue in 1-2% of pregnancies, in which causes a miscarriage in the second trimester.

When I was 17 years old, a senior in High School, I ended up finding out I was pregnant at 13 weeks. My boyfriend and I at the time were both scared and excited at the same time. We started planning what could be the rest of our lives. Only to have been followed by a broken heart because when I was 19 weeks, I ended up in the hospital for a false miscarriage. Was told to drink LOTS of fluids and that I would need to be on bed rest until further notice.

A mere two days later, I was back in the hospital losing our first unborn child. It was Earth shattering, to go through such a terrible time and then for the nurse/doctors to quite literally put your 19 week old fetus in a tub, quite unsensitive like. They proceeded to ask what I was planning on doing. Whether I wanted to do a funeral or cremation... I had just lost my baby, I couldn't think clear enough to have answered that.

Fast forward six years, pregnancy number two. We were trying this time, and we succeeded with no issues getting pregnant. Had a doctor in which I expressed my concerns in having a second trimester loss. And he brushed it off with a "well you only had one, so you should be fine". I then immediately changed my doctor. It seemed so off, why wouldn't you even TRY to run tests and see what the issue may have been.

This time around it was MUCH harder. Because I found out I was pregnant much earlier along. So I never missed a doctors appointment, I was able to find out the gender of my baby, a girl. And I couldn't have been more excited to be here in this stage of life. For it to just end abruptly. One night I was in a ton of pain; I tried to sleep it off, but I just couldn't fall asleep. I finally had enough, I woke up my fiancé and had him rush me to the hospital. The nurse rushed me to L&D and the proceeded to break my water and induce my labor. Here I am, 20 weeks and 1 day, losing my baby again.

And now here we are today, a 27 years old single mother to the most GORGEOUS 3 month old baby girl. It was a battle this one; quite intense and scary, especially having to go through it alone. With this pregnancy I had to get my cervix sewn shut at 13 weeks. And it remained that way for 23 long, stressful weeks. With doctor visits EVERY two weeks like clock work. Not only did I have to go through the pregnancy alone, but I did it while the world was falling apart.

pregnancy
1

About the Creator

SammyRaina

Single mom of a beautiful baby girl. 10/03/2020 <3

Willing to just be open and honest about everything.

Telling MY story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.