Families logo

My Dear Mum

life lessons

By Khadijah Ameena HamidahPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
This is an actual photo of my mum taken before I was even a glint in her eyes

My mum she stood 5 foot 10., 165 pounds, I grew up in Brooklyn NY in an area known as "Little Sicily" my dad was Italian You would think. That this woman would not be very agile. But yet she managed to always be in my face when I least expected it. My mom was loving and kind. And I was her only child. However, I was not ever spoiled. You know how they say, spare the rod and spoil the child and how they always say that the only child is a spoiled child. Not in this house. There are times that I remember. when I didn't do as I was told to do. It always seemed that she came from out of nowhere to make sure. She disciplined me.

My mum worked very hard and long hours. I sometimes played outside till it was almost time for her to come home. I would run in the house jump in the bed with my clothes on and pull the covers up over my head pretending to be sleep. She would come in and kiss me on the forehead thinking I was sleeping already. I still wonder today if she ever knew I was pretending.

My mother's brand of discipline. Could be either the back of her hand or a switch. Which was very popular back in those days, cause everybody had those dang gone trees in their backyard, unfortunately. If she couldn't find a switch then she would use a dishrag and back then dishrags aren't like they are today. I learned how to pop a dishrag thanks to her. My kids hated it as I did. Some things that are very fresh in my mind. I remember when I was 16 years old, and I was trying to learn to drive. I say trying because whenever I didn't do as I was told to do, my mother's hand was in my mouth, literally. I remember her telling me about taking curves and because I took the curve a little too fast and ended up on the wrong side of the road. I got a backhand. Loosened up my 2 front teeth, but I learned how to drive on curves on that day. I also told her that I no longer was interested in learning to drive and getting a driver’s license. Mind you, I was 16. In her response was "you're going to learn how to drive, even it it kills me" and whether you like it or not. and of course I did.

I also remember the time that. I was supposed to be at the dentist office and. I had to meet my mom there because she had took off to work. Well, I was hanging out with my friend and didn't remember about the dentist appointment. And of course my mom went. So I decided to go home. Hopefully, I would move faster then my mom did. Little to my surprise, she was there waiting for me when I walked inside the apartment. Did I get a whipping? Oh yes, for sure I did. Because I didn't do as I was told to do once again.

There are so many things that I could say about my mom and they would all be good. She would say things to me. Like I'll slap you into next week. Knowing all in well, she would never slap me. Because that's something she didn't believe in. She didn't believe in hitting in the face an as I raised my children. I raised them the same way I would discipline them, but never in the face. Should also say things like. When pigs fly. If I asked her something and she didn't. Like when I asked her or wanted her to grant my request, she would say. “when pigs fly”. Now we all know pigs don't fly. And they never will fly. So that told me that the answer was no. No was something she never really did say. She would say. Do this, do that. But "no" That word wasn't in her vocabulary.

She would say other things like. I brought you into this world and I can take you out. And I believed her cause she scared me to death. I love my mom more than anything else on this earth. I wish she could be here with me today. But as time would have it. I lost my mom. And I miss her every day since. My mom taught me how to be a woman and a mother. Even though there were times I hated those life lessons. She laid the foundation for me to survive. She made me all that I am today. All that I ever will be. My mom was bossy and yet she was strict. And when I say strict, I mean strict because I can remember a time. When I went to a school function, and that she told me to be home at a certain time. And of course, the being of smart butt that I thought I was. I was not home. My curfew time was 12 midnight. I came in at 1201. And I found myself at 12:02, getting up off the floor. Because to my surprise my mom was waiting behind that door. When I opened it and came in and she knocked me down. Now that may sound mean or even abusive but I learned. That night never ever come in late especially when driving her car.

Everything I have taught my children. She has laid the foundation for. I taught them never to lie. Because I was going to catch them and not always knew when news lying as my mother new when I was lying. The last time. I remember my mother. Getting up in my face was at the great age of 27. We were living in a house in Poughkeepsie, NY. I remember very vividly that I was having a conversation with my mother, which didn't go my way as usual. And she said something I did not like an I started to mumble underneath my breath. To my surprise, while I was washing dishes, I happened to turn around. And my mother was standing right there behind me. Ready to smack me in my lips as she always did. I found this to be quite amazing, especially since I didn't know the woman could move that fast. I mean. It seems that as soon as I stopped talking, she was right there. And not only that, but she also heard what I said. My mom always had the ears. of the strongest animal in the world. And she passed that onto me because my kids would always say. How did you hear that? How did you know what I said? You have supersonic ears. You don't have ears. You have supersonic hearing. I would say, well, I get it from my mom.

What wouldn’t I do? To have my mom here with me today. I have no older brothers or sisters. It was just her. As I previously mentioned, she was my foundation. She was my rock. And when she passed away. My rock cracked and my foundation became unstable. And I had to rely on everything she taught me. Every life lesson, every word to get me through. The days tonight, the weeks and the years up until today. And hopefully. Forever.

When I think back about my mom. There is so many memories, thoughts It's hard to remember one specific thing. About her she was tall. She was beautiful. Strict is all hell. But she was mom. and today if anyone would ask me. What would I trade? What would I give? To see my mom again. My answer would be. Anything you say? Anything you want me to do I would do. Just have one more day with my mom.

I love you, Mum. I miss you, Mum. You're always in my heart and my thoughts. I am proud to be your daughter. You taught me all there is to know. About how I need to be. Things I need to do. Things I should be aware of. And you know. Thanks mum. One of the weirdest things that sticks out in my mind. Something you always would say to me. "Don't ever mess up your gene pool." I never knew what that meant. Until after I was married and started to have kids. Thanks mum.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.