Families logo

My Daughter

My daughter is in 5th grade and she is 10 years old.

By Bill HarpPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2
My Daughter
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

My daughter is in the fifth grade and is ten years old. She has already demonstrated her talents such as being a good singer and dancer, a beautiful writer, a keen pianist, an excellent student, and can do many things independently, which makes me admire her more and more and love her more and more.

When my wife was pregnant, I imagined that she would give birth to a boy and how she would raise him to be a success, to fulfill my father's unfulfilled ambition so that he could shine in the family. When my daughter was born, I was slightly sorry. When I saw that my daughter was white and lovely, and she was a good girl, I was glad. My daughter was timid by nature and never left our side until she was five years old, even when we sometimes stayed up late for entertainment, she stayed with us late into the night. I once lamented that my child was too dependent, when will she be able to take charge of herself? In the year she turned five, my wife accidentally contracted acute jaundice and hepatitis, of course, we were most worried about the child, we had no choice but to isolate her and send her to her grandmother's house in the countryside, but she had never left us. After sending the child away, our hearts were empty and we often called back to ask about it. A week later, I couldn't wait to pick her up, and her grandmother praised her for her competence and understanding.

When my daughter was six years old, my family went to Chengdu to play with relatives. On the 15th day of the first month of the lunar calendar, we had the opportunity to see the beautiful scenery of Mount Emei, which we knew was high and steep, so we had to take the ropeway up the mountain. The weather was cold and cloudy at the foot of the mountain, mixed with scattered drizzle, snow-capped and sunny at the mountainside, and windy and sunny at Golden Peak. Happy times are always the fastest, finally, it was time to go down the mountain, we were not done with the tour, but we gladly decided to walk, and continue to see the snow-covered Emei Mountain. We laughed and talked down, and my daughter said she finally found the feeling of going deep into the snowy forest. When we reached the Seven Mile Slope, we couldn't help but suck in a breath of cold air: the steps of the Seven Mile Slope were all covered with snow, leaving only a blanket of white reaching into the distance, and only occasionally there were railings for people to climb, so we were really worried about accidentally killing our lives. We had to take one step, the road was too slippery, and we all became "four-legged beasts", concentrating on the ground crawling, and sometimes even falling, we traveled with six people, and only my daughter did not fall over. This also became her capital to show off in front of us later. After crawling on the ground for more than an hour, we finally conquered the seven-mile slope, and after breathing a sigh of relief, I thought of my daughter, she is so small, what did she think just now? What if she wanted me to carry her, but she didn't say anything, she did it and did it so well.

As my daughter grew up, the books in her bag became heavier and heavier, and in such a competitive era, it seemed that there were more and more things she needed to learn. Special classes, remedial classes, and hobby classes are all over the place, and my daughter has joined the ranks of piano training classes and Little Star English learning classes in addition to her studies. Although parents are sad, they have to keep encouraging their children, because everything is done for them. The good thing is that the child does not think, the occasional tired, the parent will be like three or four as coaxing the child, to meet the child's other wishes. My daughter was no exception, and she grew up amid her exertions. When she was nine years old, she had to go to the Nanchong piano examination at the end of July, and her daughter, who had been studying for less than a year, declared her piano level two. During the summer vacation, the adults were busy in the air-conditioned room in the hot sun, and my daughter was sweating in front of a big fan. After the piano grade exam, my daughter said to me, "Dad, I was still a little nervous, my palms were sweating, I played one wrong note, I don't know if I can pass?" I said, "It doesn't matter if I made one mistake, there are still 99 points left, how can I fail? You are so capable, if it were Dad, I don't know how many mistakes I would have made."

On November 6, 05, after accompanying my daughter for almost a year, my wife also tried to ask my daughter to go to the county to train alone, my daughter agreed without saying anything, only saying that if she did well, she wanted us to take a big head post with her, a small wish that we gladly agreed to. I was worried, after all, this is the first time my daughter went away alone, called my daughter to come to me, to help her break down the various aspects of learning to go to the county, how to transfer, how to take the bus, no bus how to do, how to give us in a public phone booth to report us safe, etc. My daughter said she remembered. After my daughter left, I couldn't help but cry when I imagined my daughter waiting alone for the bus and walking alone in the flow of the street. Yes, my daughter has grown up, and she will gradually leave my side, to go through her life experience, to sharpen her will in life, may my daughter go well.

Daughter, you spread your wings and fly, if dad can not do you fly in the wide sky, I would like to be a white cloud around you, always accompany you, you swim in the sea, if dad can not do your voyage beacon, I would like to be a sea swallow around you, singing for you all the way.

immediate family
2

About the Creator

Bill Harp

The most important condition to be a successful person is to work hard with energy every day and not waste time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sid Aaron Hirjiabout a year ago

    nice heartfelt story. I decided as a young kid I didn't want to be a parent because I had trouble bonding with my own family. Great read thanks

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.