Families logo

My butterscotch Helen foster

Women who inspire

By Benny fosterPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
  • March is women’s history month and I know that we’re supposed to celebrate the famous women in history that has impacted our world as we know it but there are some women that are hidden from the world’s view or doesn’t get the Instagram likes that make them popular but they are the ones that should get the recognition they deserve and that woman for me is a woman by the name of Helen foster she is my best friend my loving wife and a proud mother of three beautiful children Alyssa Joshua and sienna. Alyssa is Our oldest daughter who’s about to finish her studies at Montclair State University with a degree in film while Joshua and sienna who has autism are in the tenth and sixth grade respectively are thriving in their schools all because of my wife’s guidance. I met my wife Helen 16 years old in an on line chat room which was American on line at the time and from the first time we began to talk with each other I felt her caring essence and loving personality which drew me to her and I knew from that moment that I Wanted to have her in my life. We later met each other and eventually got married and she has been my heart beat ever since. I celebrate her this month for a multitude of reasons but for starters is how she has raised our oldest daughter Alyssa who is 21 years of age from a distressful situation when she was five to become an accomplished student and a well rounded woman that she is today because of the love and caring she showed when Alyssa was going thru her Personal issues with her biological father which showed me how to care and be nurturing for my younger children Joshua and sienna but I’ve seen this in Helen when she was working in the daycare field and when she had to watch her older brother Keith who is disabled which showed me someone who is the mirror image of what my mother was and who I wanted to become. My son Joshua and my daughter sienna are both autistic and as parents we went through our struggles and turmoils with each one of their diagnoses and for me personally I have never been thru this before which is why Helen should be celebrated just as much or maybe more in my eyes because thru this journey she has took in upon her self to learn about autism and has showed me how to deal with it and has cared for both Joshua and sienna non stop to the point of giving up her job as a daycare provider and also advocating for their needs and services on an endless basis at times seeing her break Down emotionally and cry feeling that is too much for her to bear. Her strength inspires me to push through in my day when I feel that it is going rough which is why I have changed my position as far as looking at stay home mothers as not being a hard job which is a much harder job than you can imagine but luckily for us we are involved in a state program which pays my wife for taking care of my two special needs children which is a blessing. Also what makes Helen foster so special is her warm and generous demeanor when it comes to caring for other people.In one example this past thanksgiving she had befriended a homeless teen at the laundromat one day who had no parents to go to and offered him an invite to our home for dinner which was a pleasant experience and it showed a side of her that was so caring that the very next day he bought her a coffee mug for Xmas which I thought was so special.Another example of her generous nature was when she volunteered to become an autism advocate for a parent in the community which developed into a best friend relationship that Helped the parent receive Counseling with iep services as well as advice for handing her special needs son who was seven at the time.For me personally one moment sticks out to me when Helen spent time with my mother during her final days talking in the hallway and spending time at Dunkin’ Donuts drinking coffee and snacking on Munchkins while developing a closer bond which I was jealous of but that was my Helen. Being that this month celebrates the achievement of all women we seem to only shed the light on the ones that’s are famous and well known and there is nothing wrong with that they should be recognized and looked upon but sometimes you just have to look into your own background instead of other neighborhoods to find that one who inspires you and make you become a better person and makes you move different in this society.Thank you in advance for reading this and by reading this I bet you feel the inspiration to be a better version of yourself.

married
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.