Families logo

Mothers Tears

Mothers tears is about a single mother trying to help her only son with cancer. By Kathleen.J Merry

By Kathleen MerryPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Mothers Tears
Photo by Jeremy Wong on Unsplash

Judith chambers was sitting at the kitchen table,her head in her hands,tears streaming down her face,her stomach in knots,A cup of tea going cold untouched. She had been through so many trials in her life, and came through them stronger, She was not a worrier normally,more of a person who faced things directly on,dealt with them, gave herself a shake and moved on. But this was too big for her,if it had been herself she could cope, but when it is your child, and no matter how old they were, two,ten,fifteen or thirty,they were still your child. They had tried everything possible except one thing. And that she could not afford. Mike her nineteen year old son, should be out, with his friends, dating Nice girls, going to clubs,or travelling like his friends to places like Australia,or Thailand. Instead of laying in his bed,to weak to even stand,and wasting away to a shadow. Her son had a rare cancer ,they were told everything had been done in this country, but there was a medical research centre in California, that had amazing results. The problem was they needed twenty thousand dollars ,where would she get twenty thousand dollars? She was a single mother, having raised her son By herself since he was five. Like any good mother she would do anything for her son,even die. She had nothing of any value to sell. They rented the house they lived in,so that was not an option. She worked as a housemaid in one of the hotels for minimum wage she sighed, shook her head and thought she had better get ready for work.Fifteen minutes later she went into her sons room.

” Mike honey are you awake?!”

” Aye Ma.”

” Can I get you anything Son ? “

” No Ma. When is Jonathan coming?”

” He should be here, aah that’s him now. I will go talk to him now, and I will see you when I get home. Do you Want me to Bring ,you anything In.”

” No Ma, just take care of yourself, and stop worrying.”

” Easier said than done , ok so see you later “

Judith went through to speak to Jonathan, Mikes care worker. Having Jonathan was a blessing.it allowed her to work.giving her peace knowing her son was being looked after by a gentle giant like Jonathan, He was such a lovely big lad. He looked big and fierce sometimes,but he was as gentle as a lamb,and very sweet. A nicer person you wouldnt meet. She looked up at this six foot two young man and smiled.

” Hello Jonathan how you doing son? I am so glad your here. “

” I am good Judith, she had told him to call her by her first name. But I can see you have been crying again. Not a good night ? “

” Mothers tears son I’m crying for Ma Bairn.”

” That’s your child right ?

“ Aye Lad. I keep forgetting you’re from Australia “.

“No lad he was in a lot of pain, I don’t know if that medicine is helping him.”

“I will phone the doctor today,and see if there is anything else”

” would you do that , I would appreciate it, I don’t like to complain.”

” Your not Judith, we want him to be as comfortable as possible. Don’t worry, you go to work, I will give him his bath,and breakfast,and before I give his meds, I will talk to the doctor”

” Thanks Lad, I will be back about two. Bye then.”

” Bye Judith.”

Judith got into her car and drove to work, it was only a twenty minute drive, she had seriously thought of selling the car, but she needed it to take Mike to his appointments. And when things were getting him down she would take him out in the car just to drive.Judith had worked at the Clarion hotel for 10 years and she’s gotten to know some of the regulars. Mr Rogers one of the hotel clients , actually lived six month of the year in Spain and for the other six months he stayed actually in the hotel with his dog. He was a bit eccentric but I lovely gentleman in his 80s.
Judith went into his room to clean she always tried to do it when he wasn’t there. But this morning he was sitting reading his paper

“Oh Mr Rogers ! I’m sorry to disturb you ,would you like me to come back?”
“No it’s alright Judith come away in. How is that lad of yours doing ?”

“He’s hanging in there Mr Rogers thank you for asking.”

Judith went through to the bedroom to make the bed then moved on to the bathroom taking out the used towels , and exchanged them for fresh ones.She cleaned the bathroom replace the soaps. And was making her way out , when she noticed something laying on the floor under the bed.She went to pick it up it was a little black notebook.

”Mr Rogers I found this under the bed you must’ve dropped it.
“ Aah thank you I was looking for that, couldn’t find it anywhere..
Well I think it’s time I take daisy out for her walk, what’s the weather like outside?.
“It’s a bit fresh but lovely. Just a nice day for a brisk walk.
If I was you , I would put a coat and a scarf on .keep you warm.”

“ I will do that ,thank you Judith you have a good day now.”

Over the years she’d gotten to know Mr Rogers quite well, as far as she could tell he didn’t have anyone except Daisy his dog. When he first arrived at the hotel he was a bit gruff. And was inclined to be a bit rude when speaking to people. But Judith could see through that shell that wall that he had built up. And with a lot of love and a lot of patience she was able to connect with him, he didn’t suffer fools gladly. It was not everyone he would talk too , He like Judith, Things weren’t always the way they were now. He wasn’t always a wealthy man. He too was brought up by a single mother.It wasn’t easy, there were times they went to bed hungry. but he had a thing about inventions he was always trying to invent, then one day he hit the jackpot. It was a silly looking thing, a small piece of metal to improve The effectiveness of energy.He put a patent on it , and it was now being used all round the world, making him a very wealthy man. He wasn’t so old that he couldn’t see the red eyes when he looked at Judith. He knew she’d been crying but did not want to embarrass her.He wondered if there was any way he could help her and made it his intention to find out. He had gotten to know the staff that had been there for years, and Charles the doorman always seemed ready for a chat. He called down to reception and asked to see Charles.

a few minutes later there was a knock on his door. He called come in.

“Ah Charles !. Just the man. Charles I want to talk to you in confidence, I’m not a man to beat about the bush. And I want this conversation to stay between you and I OK ? You promise?
“On my life Mr Rogers, how can I help you?.”

” I want to talk to you about one of your colleagues, Judith.
“You mean Judith chambers?”

” Is that her name , I didn’t know that was her second name .anyway no matter.Yes Judith.
“ Now Charles, Do you know what’s going on with her. I know about her son? But has there been any new developments? I could see she was very upset this morning, and I would like to help if I can.

“ Well Sir, Everything that can be done here has been done, she has tried everything, but she’s heard there is some treatment available at a research centre in California, that have treated successfully this type of cancer her son has. But of course like everything, the problem is finance.
“How much are we talking about?”
“It’s a lot . she would need at least $20,000.”

” I see, thank you Charles.Now mind Keep this little talk between ourselves.
“ I will sir I promise.”

“ Would you do me one more favour, would you ask Judith to come and see me. Thank you.
Judith had just finished and was about to make her way home, She had her coat on When Charles came and whispered in her ear, and said Mr Rogers would like to see you.
“ Is there anything the matter she asked?.”
“ No he’s just asked that you go and speak to him.”

“Okay I’ll make my way up there now, thanks Charles.”
Judith knocked on Mr Rogers door.

Instead of calling out he answered the door himself.

“ aah Judith, thanks for coming to see me.I won’t keep you long. I am sure you are wanting to get home to your lad. “

“Is there anything wrong Mr Rogers “l

“ No Lass. I am sure by this time, you’ve guessed that I don’t have any family. I couldn’t help but notice when you were here earlier, that you’ve been crying. I’m an old man now I’ve lived my life, and I’ve been around the block many a times. I know what it’s like to go without . I wasn’t always wealthy.I had a lovely wee mother, and like you , she raised me on her own.

Many a times I had wished that someone could help us. So I’m just passing this on , I would like to help you.I hope you don’t mind but I had a wee talk with Charles,And he told me about California. He promised me it would not go Any further than us. He tells me that you need $20,000 I want to give you that for your son. “

Judith burst into tears, “ I don’t know what to say, are you sure? Am I dreaming.”
“ No lass, Your no dreaming it’s only money too me, as I said I have no family, in fact you and Charles and other staff that have been here for years have been like family to me. I will pay for everything and even if it goes over don’t be frightened I have enough to pay for it.”

“ Oh Mr Rogers I am speechless, I don’t know what to say except thank you.

Do you mind if I give you a hug and a kiss on the cheek?”
He laughed,” I would never turn down a kiss from a lovely looking woman he said.”

She hugged him and kissed him on the cheek.

“He said I won’t keep you now, I can see your on your way home.

You make all the arrangements and send me the bills.”

It was a very different Judith that arrived home, not like the one who had left that morning, she was so excited she couldn’t stop laughing, anyone looking at her would think she’d lost your mind. Mike was sitting up in bed when Judith arrived

“ Ma !what’s happened? You’re absolutely glowing.”
“Oh Mike son.You’re not going to believe it, but a miracle has just happened.You have often heard me talking of Mr Rogers.”

“Aye he’s the man that lives in the hotel, what about him ?”

“ He could see I was upset this morning, and he made it his business To find out why. Charles shared with him,That we needed $20,000 for you to have your treatment. And he said he will pay for it.”
“Really! Really he’s going to pay for all of it?”
“ Aye son all of it.”

The end.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.