Families logo

Motherhood

The Greatest Joy in Life, but Also the Biggest Struggle!

By Rachel LarsonPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Remember you are doing a great job! 

Motherhood is beautiful. It's been my mantra since having my son. I remind myself all the time that my job as a mom is more important to me than anything. Motherhood is one of those things that gets put down so much in our communities. We don't value it as much as our grandparents used to.

To me motherhood is beautiful! I think it's one of the most important things I will ever do in my life. I worked full-time when I got married to my husband. I worked for three years and had a baby in between all of that! It was hard! I am finally able to say that I am a stay at home mom! It was a goal that I have had since I was a little girl. I am so thankful I can teach my son at home now and remember that I am doing an important work within the walls of my own home.

Motherhood isn't easy, no way! I struggle with remembering that I am not perfect, every single day. I didn't realize the emotional taxation that occurs when we do the dishes 15,000 times a day and no one thanks you, or when you do laundry all day long and your house is still a mess and you feel like you have nothing to show for your day. I get that! I have those days ALL THE TIME! It's NORMAL!

I didn't think I was normal though. I thought "My goodness, I am doing nothing all day long by doing everything!" Remember that it's a process! No person is perfect. We will NOT have the picture-perfect magazine living rooms because we have toddlers, and babies, and toys and art hanging on our walls that our kids made oh so proudly! We have dishes in the sink that have been sitting there all day because we don't have the patience to deal with them today. We have laundry piles and messy bedrooms. We have a REAL-life version of what the magazines are hiding from you.

I am a perfectionist at heart. This concept of just leaving things till the next day is a foreign language to me. I am still learning how to balance myself and my relationship with my husband and my kid. It's a taxing job, and a thankless one, at that! The point of the matter is, motherhood is beautiful. It's very messy, it's full of mistakes, but in the end, the tiny humans live another day and we haven't gone totally insane! That's progress; I call them my drops of awesome.

Drops of Awesome include, but are not limited to: feeding the kids, reading books, doing laundry, dishes are done, cleaning up the bathroom, making lunches, making dinner, having a successful bath-time, making a craft, vacuuming the never-ending staircase, going to the grocery store, having a mental break down and getting back up and moving forward. I consider these all a drop of awesome. My day today has consisted of writing this and doing some yoga. Drop of Awesome! I didn't yell yet today at my husband or my kid. Drop of Awesome!

Just remember that you are doing a great job! What was your drop of awesome today? What kinds of things have you accomplished?

If you've liked what you've read today, send me a tip! Come back soon to read more about our wonderful role as mothers!

parents
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Larson

Hi All!

My name is Rachel. I am an avid writer. I absolutely love my family. Drops of awesome are my catch phrase! Check out my stories to read more!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.